BREAST-MILK STORAGE TIPS

in #breastfeeding7 years ago (edited)

If you are a breastfeeding mom you have probably experienced leakage due to oversupply. Not all women are this "lucky" to have so much surplus milk. The first few days after bringing my newborn home I started to notice that while I fed her from one boob the other would leak uncontrollably. Of-course, as a first time mom this was a very awkward experience and it took some time for me to adapt to all the physical changes I was going through.

I then started reading more about oversupply and ways to "save" all the milk I was wasting due to leakage. I came across an Instragram account of an exclusively pumping mom who shared AMAZING tips for all kinds of breastfeeding obstacles. It was then when I decided I wanted to become a breastfeeding EXPERT! I read on her page about a manual pump that can be used while breastfeeding baby to avoid leakage from the opposite boob; my exact problem!

This is the picture of the manual pump that helped me save all of my baby's liquid gold (breast milk).

This is by far my favorite breastfeeding accessory. It is so inexpensive and easy to use. You do not feel any pain and it is not uncomfortable at all. I started using my dual electric pump about a week after giving birth. I wanted to be able to have enough stored breast milk for when it was time to return to work. I would pump after every feeding to ensure I kept my breast stimulated; this helped keep my supply up as well for my very hungry newborn.

I like to try new products and see which ones work best for me. This was the case when it came to buying breast milk storage bags. I think I have used just about 5 different brands but my favorite ones are the Lasinoh storage bags. (See picture below.) I love these bags because I never experienced any leaking or ripping of the bag. Also, these are perfect for stacking up and storing in freezer, deep freezer or fridge.

Below are several different ways you can use these bags to store your milk. I loved stacking the bags in sets of ten and putting them in zip lock bags, I called them milk bundles. LOL!! I then became the breast milk storage queen! The amount of milk I had in my freezer was pretty inspiring even for those that were against breastfeeding. I'd say the key to keeping a pretty impressive stash of breast-milk is to breastfeed on demand and only use stored milk for emergencies or whenever you are away from baby. I never fed my daughter from a bottle if I was home.

Very IMPORTANT!

If you are going back to work, you must educate your child care provider on thawing breast milk! The unique thing about breast milk is that stored milk separates into layers. Cream will rise to the top (fatty layer) and the bottom layer will look more like water. Breast milk is not to be shaken, gently swirl the warmed bottle to mix the milk layers. The first time I left my daughter with my mom, she called me to tell me that my breast-milk was no good! I was immediately offended, then it hit me that I didn't explain to her how breast-milk separates after being thawed. She dumped 12 ounces of breast-milk because I failed to communicate this information! 12 ounces of breast milk dumped? That is a BIG deal.

Collecting Breastmilk:

♥Wash hands well with soap and water.

♥Wash all the collecting bottles and breast pump parts that touch your breasts or the milk. Use hot, soapy water or a dishwasher. Rinse carefully. Air dry on a clean towel.

♥If your baby is premature or ill, the hospital may ask you to sterilize your pump parts.

♥Practice pumping when you are rested, relaxed and your breasts feel full. Once a day try to breastfeed your baby only on one side and pump the other breast.

♥Or pump for a few minutes if your baby skips a feeding or breastfeeds for only a short while. Read the Breast Milk Storage chart to learn how to store breast milk.

♥Be sure to use the right size breast shield so that your nipple fits comfortably.

♥Employed moms can help their baby learn to take a bottle once breastfeeding is going well. It is best to wait for three (3) to four (4) weeks to introduce bottles. If you are having problems breastfeeding, ask for help from a lactation consultant or health care provider.

♥Begin to pump to store milk one (1) to two (2) weeks before returning to work. Many employed moms use the fresh milk they pump at work for feedings the next day. They refrigerate Friday's milk for use on Monday. Save your frozen milk for emergencies.

♥Pump three (3) times during an eight (8) hour work shift, or every three (3) hours you are away from your baby. Ten minutes of pumping during breaks and 15 minutes of pumping during lunch with a good pump will help protect your milk supply. If you can't pump three (3) times, pump as much as you can during each day.

♥Breastfeeding in the evening and on days off helps maintain your milk supply and protects your special bond with your baby.

Storing Breast-milk:

It is normal for pumped milk to vary in color, consistency and scent depending on your diet. Avoid adding warm milk to already cooled milk. Pumped milk may be added to frozen milk provided it is first chilled and the quantity is less than what is frozen.

♥Freeze milk in two (2) to five (5) oz portions. Small amounts will thaw more quickly. You will waste less milk this way and will avoid over-feeding. Aqueous liquids expand when frozen.

♥Be sure to leave some extra room at the top of the container so the bottle or bag won't burst.

♥Seal containers tightly. Write the date on a piece of tape on the bag or bottle. Use the oldest milk first.

I hope you guys find this helpful, it is so much fun being a breastfeeding mom! This is what we do!

See picture below for some more details about storing breast milk and how long it is good for, depending where it is stored.

Sort:  

OMG, ths information is absolutely brilliant! Is just what I needed. I will be returning to work soon and don't have ANY pumped as of yet! I am dreading pumping. I have pumped before, but don't seem to feel as though I get enough for what my little one needs. Looking at your photos of all your milk is AMAZING! Well done you!! I would do anything to have that much milk stored in my freezer. Would put my mind at rest! I always feel like each time I pump, the next breastfeed is low and weak if that makes sense. Like I feel as though I am taking milk away from the next feed. :-( Is there anything you could suggest?

I knew you would enjoy this post! Sorry for the delayed response, but I would recommend that you pump right after every feeding, even if you don't see as much milk as you would like you are keeping you breast stimulated and giving you body the message that you need to produce more. Drink a lot of water before and during every pump session (this helped me a lot) I used to stress over those disappointing pump sessions where you don't even fill up a bottle so trust me i know the feeling! It gets better as long as you stay 1 hydrated, 2 consistent, and 3 positive! Stress is breastfeeding's enemy lol you got this momma, try looking at your baby while you pump or if away from baby look at a picture they say this helps the milk flow. @sarahstarkey

I will definitely try these tips! That night, I pumped at 11pm once the food shopping had been delivered. However only got 2.5oz grrr! I even sat sniffing little one's clothes and in fact, my let down happened when I did so believe in these things you are saying. Each time I feed and pump I try and think of positive things however always find myself thinking about why my milk seems so low. I will try and pump after next feed and see how I get on. Will update you! Thank you again :-) @breastfeedingmom

Think of it as 2.5 oz is better than nothing at all!! It always helped me too some people do not believe it! Have you ever tried lactation cookies? I had some when I was desperate and baby girl was starting to drink more milk. Yes keep me in the loop, no problem :)

Oh gosh!!! Fed little one, pumped straight after... got 1oz in 25 mins!!! Soooo disheartening!! Going to keep trying though as my other half says, don't give up. Gosh its so hard @breastfeedingmom

It's a tough job! definitely look into breastfeeding supplements i can recommend a few that helped me

Which supplements did you use? I do have the mother's milk herbal tea. Haven't used it for a while. May try that again too! @breastfeedingmom

I'm not sure if you ever heard of lactation cookies or lactation brownies but they did wonders for me! I used to drink the tea as well i loved it! and for some time I took supplement pills to increase supply like when I got my menstrual back and noticed a drop in supply. I will attach some websites where you can get the emergency lactation brownies and cookies, you'll come across many positive reviews as well.

https://milky-mama.com/

I'm sorry, I have only just seen this tag! Have commented above ^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76