''Tis the season... be a friend.

in #breakups7 years ago

I'm new at this, but I have a story to share. This summer I got dumped by my girlfriend of 18 months. One of the worst parts is how close we we're to being back at college together. I thought if I could hold off the inevitable until school started, then it would just go away. I couldn't do it. I slipped into a depression that still hasn't completely left me. Since that happened, I've been taking the time to catch up with old friends over a beer or something. I've realized how short life is to fixate on things that knock you down. Through catching up with these people, I am astounded by the amount of heart break in the air. It seems to be everywhere. It kind of helped me realize how small my problems were compared to serious issues in this world.
What I've drawn from this recent realization is that there isn't really a whole lot that anyone can say to help a friend feel better right away. There isn't a be all end all phrase or advice that makes everything better. Sometimes you have to just let people have their moment. The thing that I've found helps the most is just continuing to let this person know that you are there for them. Be a friendly smile and have a shoulder available to cry on. Being a friend sometimes makes all the difference in the world. Happy friendships!

Sort:  

Congratulations @djfunk1! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57574.67
ETH 2368.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42