Smoothies: The Breakfast food

in #breakfast6 years ago

tmp_NaigOZ_0e3d0752c888d667_PS17_CleanEating_App_Day11Breakfast_310_1.jpg

I’m not going to lie, but I’m really not the biggest fan of smoothies or anything too sweet for that matter (I’m definitely don’t have a sweet tooth).

During December avocados were semi-cheap here in South Africa so for breakfast I would opt for avo’s on rice cakes. I loved that SO much!! Unfortunately, they have become too expensive to include in my diet. So for the last couple of weeks I’ve really been struggling to get a good “breakfast food”.

So now, my attention has turned to smoothies.

08-fruit-smoothies-blueberry-orange.jpg

I’m not 100% hooked on them yet, but I think I’m getting there. Yesterday I made a very simple healthy smoothie and I really liked it. So I decided to share it with you guys! I just used everything that was available in my kitchen, so you can obviously add your own twist to it or incorporate more fruit.

Ingredients:

  • A few chunks of ice

  • Half a frozen banana (Freeze you banana’s beforehand, it makes the smoothie creamier)

  • Protein powder (This is optional, I just do it for a more balanced smoothie)

  • One teaspoon of Chia seeds (For some added healthy fats)

  • Two teaspoons for hemp seeds

  • The tiniest bit of spirulina powder (I know it taste disgusting, but it’s really healthy and banana really masks the taste)

  • 100g of yogurt (I used plain yogurt, but you can add whatever you want. )

  • Cold tea or water (I added a cold fruit tea for some added flavor, but water would be fine.)

Just put all these ingredients in a high power blender and blend until smooth.

The Protein Powder I use

IMG_20180211_103431[1].jpg

My Brand of Chia Seeds

IMG_20180211_103437[1].jpg

Spirulina Powder

IMG_20180211_103442[1].jpg

Hemp seed powder

IMG_20180211_103447[1].jpg

Fruit tea (From The Tea Merchant)

IMG_20180211_103501[1].jpg

I’ll probably be posting more smoothie recipes in the future. This one was just to get me started. I really hope you enjoyed this post.

Sort:  

nice photographs ,thanks for that educative message

You're welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56847.11
ETH 2970.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29