You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A baker needs to measure everything

in #breadbakers6 years ago

Congratulations - you put into this post everything (and more) that I spend years on different forums for and read through hundreds of pages of different books. Every bread baker should print it and put it into the pantry next to the flour! Thank you so much :)

Regarding tables: For my sour dough recipes and other breads that take a long time I make a time table like a military operation with counting the hours till it goes into the oven and between the steps in preparation. So when I need a bread at a specific time (let's say for a party) I can look at it and count back the time and see when the different work steps should be. And then decide whether I want to get up in the middle of the night to fold the dough;)

Sort:  

There is still one thing I don't fully get in the baking: every now and then one has to be ready to ignore all the guidelines and follow the gut feeling, accepting that things will not be reproducible.
For some it's the opposite way - follow gut feeling every time, measure roughly by watching progress, do things quickly and efficiently, with roughly consistent results. And it's also fine, I just can't make it this way :)

I go by gut with recipes I know, like my go-to white/toast bread. There I can mix some 405 or 550 or some spelt or some whole wheat. I know how it should look and feel at the different stations of preparation otherwise I wouldn't be free with ingredients.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67343.52
ETH 3227.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65