Getting Stale

in #bread6 years ago

At some point in time as you begin to accumulate the number of posts, the original ideas seem to run dry and you reach a dilemma. Should I release or produce mediocre content just to produce content? Not that that is not an effective marketing strategy. Audiences like consistency and they don't like waiting and the additional incentive of money encourages the push for mediocre content. There are those days where the creative juices aren't there.


age-1238290_640.jpg

But I really I want a sandwich...



I'm not a big fan of producing "consistent" content as it locks you into a box. I'm also not a big fan of automated content or heavily formatted content. There are certain TAs on this platform that exemplify this content. If you can tell I'm not a big fan of selling my soul for that cold, hard SBD.

So, now I'm stuck talking about how I have nothing to write about and the struggle against selling out and producing mediocre content. What a first world problem.

I feel that lately I have been starting to rehash similar themes over and over again. I don't really like that. I want my content to be fresh rather than repeatedly preaching my ideology. That would put me in the same box as political talk show radioheads I really dislike. Because they are so full of themselves and lack perspective. Though I'll admit that sometimes I'm full of myself. I guess feeding my ego is a guilty pleasure.

I could read other content but with so many people creating mediocre content and other people try to replicate their mediocre content it all feels stale. Everyone that talks about cryptocurrency feels the same, even the new guys, but I guess people eat that stale bread up.

The problem with eating so many carbohydrates is that you feel tired afterwards and lose the motivation to keep moving forward. That's one reason I stopped eating bread and carb heavy items at breakfast. I have more energy and apparently now I'm a picky eater when it comes to content creation and consumption. Maybe a should pick up a McDonald's cheeseburger, wait for a few hours, eat and then hopefully my standards will be lower.

But I would rather not talk about my diet or my weight loss because other people are doing that. And frankly that sort of stuff get's really old, really fast. But I guess I am not appreciating "the journey" and should probably show a little more respect for these people. I feel good that people are making improvements in their life. It is just not very compelling content to be honest.

It's like I'm begging for something out of left field, whatever that means. Why did it have to come out of left field and not right field? Do people actually like baseball anymore? These aren't important questions, but I'm just wondering.

But hey... nobody can tell me what to do. That's a positive. I can write whatever I want even if it turns out being a complete waste of time filled with loosely connected ideas and random references thrown in to try and connect to my audience's love of mediocre cheeseburgers or hate for boring technical analysis.

But there are some times I wish someone else would pick a topic for discussion for me. I'm not braindead so I probably could muster something up given some constraints. That's weird, right? That sometimes we are more creative when we have less options. I guess the brain runs better when there aren't so many different possibilities to write about.

I remember there was that one time I wrote an article entitled "Freedom is Overrated" while being half-asleep and then @curie upvoted it for some apparent reason. When I reread what I had wrote the next morning, the whole thing really didn't make any sense. Honestly, it was probably one of the worse articles I had ever written. I guess people really liked the title or something, but I had no idea what I was really talking about. That was the second time I won the lottery.

One of the first posts that I ever wrote was about what made a piece of quality content. The properties I listed in that article were that something had to be unique, original, hard to reproduce, and valued by other people. Now that I think about, it's not that I want an original idea, but one that is also good.

This is original, but not good:

Lunar moon
As beautiful as always
Zillions of miles away
Your true love

Now, you might think that is a nice poem, but it took me less than sixty seconds to write and if you noticed it has a secret message hidden inside that describes how I feel about the poem.

I won't waste anymore of your time. It was a pleasure talking to you. Hopefully nobody upvotes my content without reading it but people always do. I guess I have true fans now. The ones that support you regardless of the quality of your work. I don't having minnows worshipping me yet, though. Those will be the days.

As for giving you something to think about and to inspire you to write a comment in order to win the SBD of this post. I want something out of left field, but that isn't trash. That isn't too hard, right? Just because I'm an unoriginal untalented writer doesn't mean that you have to be.


Sources

Image

Sort:  

Since you referenced baseball, and are looking for something different, this is a piece of fiction I posted awhile back. It is long past payout, so don't vote it up, but it was fun to write.

https://steemit.com/fiction/@acolucky/an-open-letter-to-my-critics

You had the best comment and had a fun story to read included too. You win SBD for the post.

Thank you. Glad you liked the story.

Cool, thanks for sharing.

I’m sure plenty of people relate. write whatever you want bro.

I do. But sometimes what I want to write and what I feel like writing about are not the same. I'll just keep writing and hope people find it interesting.

Like your blog and like your photo is very interesing bro @greer184

Yeah, quite a fascinating photo, indeed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76