You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Joululimppu, Finnish sweet (Christmas) bread

in #bread6 years ago

There is no heat output from the rice cookers at all. They are really efficient. I should invest in one, but I move so often it would be hard to drag with me.

The food stalls are often run by families. Grandma cooks at home and the kids are selling :)

I'm from Canada and used to run the shower in the bathroom for heat!

Sort:  

Running the shower in the bathroom for heat? Do you mean you're running the hot shower while you're not in the hot shower yourself..? :D

Running it for heat - my dad was outraged!

... I can imagine that.

I already assumed that's a common habit in Canada. It's even crazier than some people who put their oven on and keep it open, just to heat up the apartment.

Trust me - I have done that. This is why I am in Malaysia near the equator and I still get cold here on "chilly" mornings :)

I have usually survived by wearing more layers of clothes even indoors!
But maybe it's more comfortable to move to Malaysia..

We're lucky to have pretty cheap basic heating so I haven't needed to stress about warming up the house to a reasonable temperature.

I have just always hated to be cold.Electric was a huge cost, so my Dad kept the house cold. I moved to Florida when I was 19 and never moved back that far north again. I am 59 now. I have moved a lot and as soon as I get somewhere with winter I am ready to move south again.

If you're using an expensive way to heat the house, surely it's far too easy to save some money in the heating!
We're having so called "district heating" which we get as a local waste incineration plant + local power plant, as the excess heat is used to heat up the city.

Of course it doesn't work in locations further away from the city, but now it's cheap warmth for most people.

One of the best innovations ever.

What a great idea. If they can make use of trash while getting rid of it, more the better.

I am in Kuala Lumpur now, so I need AC more than heat. but instead I have a ceiling fan :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58186.66
ETH 2353.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37