The Sour, the dough and the baked

in #bread6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190217_090956.jpg

I feel terrible for not having posted for a while. I haven't even read enough of posts on Steem lately, but this is how life takes me to places. Not to anything special or anything, but my current job is just increasingly demanding and I can't focus on Steem as much as I have before.

And that's terrible.

Work has been my Steem-time, as at home I'm mostly being with my family, in my hobbies and then late in the night, possible computer time. When I'm all done for the day, I don't have the motivation to focus on Steem on the level I'd like to! And that's all because of my fault.

In addition to this, I've started to exercise far more. I'm supposed to exercise 5 days per week and that's already terrible as it is. However, I've lost 2 kg in 3 months so it's something. Especially as I've been trying to build muscle, not lose fat. I've been eating far too much for that.

I'm still missing the finish of my story I was supposed to make. I can't do it without the artwork though. What I tried to do was just plain ugly. Maybe I'll get there at some point. I've already written the post, but maybe waiting helps with the art. Maybe.

I've also found the love for photography again. It's still going on hard. I just want to purchase more DDR4 as the editor is being clogged up with 16 GB of RAM when I'm making very large panorama photos.

I know you came to read about the bread.

There's just very little for me to write about baking. It's about love, not words. Just stick your genitals in it and be happy.

The sour

I've split my sourdough in two to be able to bake more and still let the sourdough to gather enough of the wonderful sourness I'm requiring in the baking. I got really inspired in baking because of a Facebook group I found about sourdough baking and I LOVE IT.

I got some new ideas to use and now I can't help but to bake away.
IMG_20190217_193503.jpg

Wow this photo is big. But as I noticed most people had given names to the sourdoughs they have, so I decided to name my own. The typical names were boring old people's names, but I took it a step to a different direction.

Meet my sourdouhs, Starkiller and Dark Smoke Puncher.

But the big step is, what have I learned?

  1. Autolysis
  2. Use baking forms

Autolysis is surely something fancy. It seems it's basically mixing water and the flour lightly in a bowl and leaving it for at least 30-60 minutes before starting to bake it. Then only light kneading is required to get beautiful, wonderful bread.

The bread

IMG_20190213_152426.jpg

IMG_20190214_212750.jpg

The breads above look a bit like bricks. However, I was just a bit too confident in their ability to rise in the baking forms I put them in. They stayed a bit low, but in the end they're really wonderful breads!

Really crispy crust, kind of sticky and soft in the inside. The consistency is really good as I could cut really thin slices of the bread and they stayed together extremely well (which was not possible with the very early breads I baked).

Also, this one is perfect with cold sausage.

Highly recommended.

Water:flour -ratio in this bread is around 2:3.
The sourdough is wholegrain wheat and all the flour in the bread is just regular wheat.

IMG_20190217_090956.jpg

The bread above was baked in a cast aluminium pot! It gave the bread a really pretty form to the bread as it's perfectly round and wonderful.

Also this bread is perfect for taking "just one piece of bread as a snack" and cut the piece from the middle. The bread doesn't seem like it in the photo, but it's really large!

Water:flour -ratio in this bread is around 3:4.
Same thing as with the above bread. Maybe I should add some more wholegrain to make this healthier..

The baked


I'm not baked, that just sounded good.

Unless I get the art I'm looking for, next up:
More bread baking posts!
Maybe some cakes too if we're lucky.

Sort:  

Yeah, sure, it's bigger in real life. Never mind that you took like 15 minutes to get just the right angle and make it look bigger.

On the plus side, you can now do something that the president of the United States will never be able to do: build a wall. And then, after, you can even eat it.

HEY.

I was just trying to get a photo where it looks as big as it is and it took me approximately 15 seconds until I got bored doing that.

I can start producing bread-bricks and build a wall with them. This will keep the mexicans out of US and also feed the hungry mexican families who can eat the wall.

Sounds like a great idea. Almost as good as the idea to build a wall to keep out the "invasion" of drugs and pay for it with the money from the military and anti-drug efforts.

4:3? like 125 g water and 100 g flour? I run sourdough like that, but not the bread, bread is usually 60-70 g water per 100 g flour.

Oops. Thanks for noticing, now it's fixed. The ratio was the wrong way :)

"I feel terrible for not having posted for a while."
It seems like you were gone for months. but it is good to see that you are still here breadman.

Hey, I had my last post 24 days ago! And then.. 2 months ago.

So I'm away only one month at once.

See you again in approximately 30 days!

No but to be honest, I've still been kind of around, delegating people, creating account(s?) and making maybe one comment per week.

The life is wonderful. Except when it isn't. Nice to see you still around :)

It looks like a pretty nice loaf to me! The squar ones do look like they could have risen a tad more, but eh. There's nothing quite like the smell of fresh bread in the house, is there?

I actually had time to make a loaf of bread last week, but was a little disappointed. I didn't add enough salt and it was a bit lacking in flavor.

Maybe they could have, as I'm not sure if I was too impatient with the bread as these take really long times to rise to give the right flavor with sourdough. However they were near-perfect otherwise so I don't complain.

Bread requires surprising amounts of salt to be good. Have you tried sourdough-baking, as it could also help to give a nice additional flavor to the bread?

I don't really do sourdough, since it's available everywhere around here. I usually bake onion or garlic breads, whole wheat, or oat breads. The last loaf was garlic with olive oil. Next time, I'll use more salt and refrigerate the dough overnight to absorb more of the garlic aroma.

Humm. I should make a sourdough onion-garlic -bread...

Í'd go with one or the other, just from experience. Getting the balance so you can tast both onion and garlic is really tricky!

Im obsessed with sourdough myself, I recently tried to make a starter and it doesnt seem to take off? its bubbles a little then dies off, so eventually I just chucked it in the fridge and went out to buy a ready baked sourdough

If it makes some bubbles it seems like it'd be ready to start, but if it makes a few bubbles, I would try to feed it once again. I'd take most of sourdough out (into the trash if nowhere else) and leave a little bit on the bottom, then give it more flour and water. Then leave it to a warm place for a day or two again.

It maybe can work.

If you'll end up making a starter, you can try mixing water, wholegrain flour AND a little bit of organic shredded apple. Then give it a little bit flour and water daily. The shredded apple might speed up the sourdough starter.

The apple trick sounds like something I should try. thank you for the tips!

Bread is all that a man or woman needs to be happy <3

I'm experimenting with different ratios of flour to water, so good to see your results. I haven't tried sourdough yet, although I have the starter kit. Like you, life is very busy and I'm wondering about the wisdom of adding another thing to keep an eye on 😊 Maybe later!

Now as I've started to bake with sourdough I can't bake without it! It gives so much flavor in the bread it feels so wrong to have bread without it.
Also the different water:flour -ratios are more fun when you can use baking forms or pots, so the bread will not just become really flat :)

@apsu You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63237.60
ETH 2647.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81