The bread! How to bake it and how to eat it.

in #bread7 years ago

Time to get back to the roots. Two of my first three posts were about baking bread and I've had a pause from baking bread and making bread posts. It's time to get back and share you a good, basic recipe for baking really good bread and pretend it's super healthy for you! I'm not going to tell you how to eat bread though, as I'll be eating the bread when I'm finished myself.

If you want it to be less healthy or you can't find all the ingredients, just leave them out or replace them. I can never know what will be the future of your bread anyway

You can see my son helping me bake. Remember to tell him he's a great boy!
I'm a lazy, lazy boy for not cropping the images. Maybe I should practice with this one..
Leipä08.JPG

THE BREAD

850g wheat (700g regular wheat, 150g wholegrain wheat)
500g water
25g yeast
16g seasalt
Spoonful of honey
Spoonful of dried nettle

Leipä01.JPG

Start by mixing the yeast in lukewarm water. Add the flour (or add the water in the flour) together with dried nettle and the honey and mix. I'm using an electric mixer and at first, I'm using the slowest speed for 13 minutes.

Leipä02.JPG

Then, add the salt and mix 7 minutes with a bit faster speed.

Let the dough rest under a cover for 45-60 minutes. Resting time depends on the temperature and in cooler temperatures it can rest for longer, but it will have a stronger flavor.

Leipä06.JPG

Take the dough and slice it in two pieces and roll them into bread. They'll be around 800 grams each. Use some flour to avoid the dough being too sticky. Let the two breads rest covered for another 45 minutes. I sprinkled some water on the bread, but it's not necessary.

Leipä07.JPG

Put the oven to 250 celsius degrees. When the oven is ready, add the bread and sprinkle some water in the oven. After 5 minutes, reduce the temperature to 200 celsius degrees and bake for 45 minutes more (so it's total 50 minutes). Open the oven twice during this to give the bread some fresh air. It's a friendly thing to do.

Now the bread is finished. Yummy! Sprinkle some more water on the bread when it's finished.

Leipä08.JPG

I'm writing this while I'm waiting for the bread to cool down so I don't even know if this is any good. :(

Sort:  

Bread is wonderful. I am so happy that I don't have any health problems with gluten! Wonderful to meet you @apsu!

I've had one pretty good gluten free bread recipe, but I'm happier with being ok with gluten as there are far more options :) Thanks for your comment sally!

Looks very good to me :] Tasty!

It is tasty! Really really tasty.. and it has a crispy crust.

I need to try this.

I've never really attempted making bread but I want to.

You should try it! It's fun, even though if it doesn't go perfect.

Beautiful! I like to make bread, too

Thanks! I'd love to bake more bread but I can bake faster than I can eat :(

I find it very relaxing... unless I'm dying to eat it and get in a hurry because I'm so anxious to eat some !

You're right! It's really relaxing, until the point you'd like to get fresh bread already and you've planned to make a bread which takes 2 days to prepare. (I've done it before, it took long but it was really good)

Looks amazing, I love baking my own bread. I am still learning every time I bake.

It's good to find some good, basic rules for baking and then start to practice more and more :)

Life is learning more every day and all the time.

Is this bread particularily good for spreading #yunk on? Can I put this bread in the #yunkster ?

It's the best kind of bread for spreading #yunk as have you ever seen more beautiful, impressive and junkly bread than this?

Follow your heart, follow your yunk.

yummy! Can I get a bite?

You can get an entire bread if you're hungry enough ;)

hahaha! I just had dinner. But I can eat that for dessert. :)

Looks very good to me

Thanks, it tastes better than it looks so you can imagine it's very good :)

such bread, much yum

It had a really crispy crust, soft and tasty middle and a really nice flavor. 5/5 would eat again.

Yesterday I was wondering what the whole big deal regarding bread in general chat was about. Didn't think there was actual bread involved. No idea what nettle is.

Sorry, somehow I missed this comment. Bread should be always a big deal on any chat :)

Nettle is a plant which burns your skin when you touch it, but it's really healthy in food.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67