You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Joululimppu, Finnish sweet (Christmas) bread

in #bread6 years ago

I'm thinking it's weird that there are countries in which ovens are rare, as it's one of the cornerstones of the nordic cooking. Anything can be prepared in an oven.. at least almost anything!

I'm happy using a machine, I've never loved kneading with my hands but instead I'm appreciating efficiency brought by modern technology :)

Sort:  

It's too hot in SE Asia and few people have ovens or a/c - many "kitchens" are out on the balcony or a room closed off from there rest of the house. They use appliances such as rice cookers and grills. You would fit in with the tech. They are far ahead of what I saw in California before I got here.

There is also a big street food culture 24/7. Many people never cook a thing here.

I have city friends that do all their cooking on the street outside the front door and eat there too. It takes getting used to from my western point of view. I can't think of anyone I have met here that would dream of baking bread. Lots of rice and noodles though!

That's a difference we have, haven't heard it's too hot up here in north. Instead traditional ovens were also meant to heat up the house and they were built massive.

The rice cookers are a cpecialty, but I'm assuming they produce far less heat than the ways we are used to. When we have foreign students moving here, they're usually trying to find rice cookers as fast as they can!

The street food culture is reall interesting but also understandable. Can be a really good way for someone to earn his living while others can completely skip cooking :)

There is no heat output from the rice cookers at all. They are really efficient. I should invest in one, but I move so often it would be hard to drag with me.

The food stalls are often run by families. Grandma cooks at home and the kids are selling :)

I'm from Canada and used to run the shower in the bathroom for heat!

Running the shower in the bathroom for heat? Do you mean you're running the hot shower while you're not in the hot shower yourself..? :D

Running it for heat - my dad was outraged!

... I can imagine that.

I already assumed that's a common habit in Canada. It's even crazier than some people who put their oven on and keep it open, just to heat up the apartment.

Trust me - I have done that. This is why I am in Malaysia near the equator and I still get cold here on "chilly" mornings :)

I have usually survived by wearing more layers of clothes even indoors!
But maybe it's more comfortable to move to Malaysia..

We're lucky to have pretty cheap basic heating so I haven't needed to stress about warming up the house to a reasonable temperature.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58054.32
ETH 2357.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42