Baking faster baked sourdough bread

in #bread7 years ago (edited)

IMG_6686.JPG

I'm not a excellent baker. Most of what I can is learned from a book of a Swedish baker, Jan Hedh. I'm not familiar with facts about baking outside the book and now I learned something new on Steemit. I read this post by user @jabenaqui and tried some of the tricks he recommended for baking bagel. However I'm not baking bagel, but my plain ol' sourdough bread.

IMG_6658.JPG

The recipe:
200g fully active sourdough
700g of wheatflour
400g of water
10g of yeast
15g of seasalt

Mix sourdough, wheatflour, water and yeast quickly with a mixer until everything is smooth. If the dough seems too wet or too dry (you'll learn to see this) add a little bit of flour or water. The amount of water and flour is up to how dry or moist the flour is, so you'll never know the exact amounts of water and flour before you'll mix the dough.

Leave it to rest for 40 minutes.

If you are using an electric mixer with baking hooks, knead the dough with slowest speed for 7 minutes. Then add the salt and knead the dough for 2 more minutes.

Bake the bread in the form you wish and leave it to rise for 2-3 hours. The regular yeast will help the dough to rise up better, but the sourdough gives the bread a real nice acidic taste and a lot of flavor.

IMG_6665.JPG

I've had some trouble with sticky dough in my bread baskets, so I tried to use aluminum foil to prevent stickiness from happening. Protip: Don't do it. It sticks in the aluminum and the foil breaks in pieces when you try to remove it.

IMG_6675.JPG
This is what bread looks like after you have ripped it off from an aluminum foil. It looks bad!

Heat the oven in 250 celsius, add bread in the oven and spray some water in the oven. After 5 minutes of baking, lower the temperature to 200 celsius degrees and let it bake for around 35-40 minutes, depending on the bread size (You can bake at least1-3 breads from this amount of dough). Open the oven 2-3 times during the baking to let extra humidity out.

IMG_6677.JPG

Remove bread from the oven and enjoy. Crispy crust and tasty bread. Bread is love.

atopy
Thank you @atopy

Sort:  

What do you normally use to line your bread baskets? From what I know, you should use cheese cloth and rice flour, though I've never tried that myself.

Well the thing is, I don't usually line my bread baskets at all. I've just added enough flour that they won't stick, but it's hard to know the right amount unless I line the basket with flour. The cheese cloth and rice flour could be the next thing I'll try, thanks for the tip :)

Let me know how it goes if you try it :)

One good advice - double time in mixer maybe little bit more. The bread will be little bit bigger :)

It's a good comment, but the point in this was to try out a trick I learned from another users post.

It didn't work as well as intended, as it had been claimed this process should cause the mixer time to be much shorter. The bread didn't grow as big as I had hoped for it to grow :)

Wow @apsu! You've explained all the steps so simply. Thank you! :)
Bread is love. Indeed! People literally break bread together for Thanksgiving, don't they? :)

Well they do! Never thought about it that way. Bread is love and we can see how big part it has been in our lives and it is continuing to be :)

Awesome! Will give it a try!

You should, if you get good advice and practice a few times, you'll be making delicious bread easy :)

However if you'll be using sourdough, you should look from my earlier posts how to create one.
Like this one, click me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52