You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend read: How do you buy flour?

in #breabakers5 years ago

I buy my flour at the supermarket or at the local branch of the Rossmann drug store chain. Right now the supermarket here is closed till June due to construction and I have problems to get normal rye flour. The discount supermarket only have wheat and perhaps spelt, Rossmann only has rye in whole grain. That's the thing that's not so great about not living in a big city - nicer environment but less shops.

So I feed my sourdough with whole grain flour and afterwards add wheat or spelt. I don't buy enough flour that it's worth it to take the bus to the county seat to buy rye flour ;)

Sort:  

Oh I didn't know flour is available in Rossmann ;) I must see one in our area next week. It will be super convenient as I used to go to dm and carried heavy backpack all the way ... Non whole grain rye is one thing I'm also looking for.

Talking about sourdough starter, I feed whole wheat according to @breadcentric's post.
A baker needs to measure everything
I notice my starter is energetic with whole wheat :)

Well, my "Horst" is a rye sourdough. I'm considering taking a part of it and changing it to wheat but I don't bake enough bread to keep two sour doughs active.

Rossmann has seed mixes etc. that are great for bread - I always look into the adds and buy them when they're cheaper.

Posted using Partiko Android

Same! I can only maintain one ... So now I gave up rye sourdough. Visiting Rossmann is added to my TODOs tomorrow :D

I love Rossmann, too, because they have coupons for a 10% discount :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow I must search for this ... still many things to learn after 5 years in Germany 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57515.20
ETH 2438.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34