Brave browser first impressions and quick review

in #bravebrowser6 years ago (edited)

All internet browsers are bad.
Firefox is worst, because they disabled users' ability to disable Javascript content.
I should have written: the second worst after Microsoft's Internet Explorer, which I barely even know how to use.
But since it is so bad, I was not even aware of its existence.
Firefox also lacks a task manager that Chromium based browsers have, and lacks night mode like every other browser that I tried.
In Blisk, tabs continue to run even after they are killed by the task manager.
This is a stark warning sign.
Today I installed Brave.
I was surprised that it has some ability to disable scripts.
However, there is no whitelisting possibility, which renders it almost useless.
Its Javascript block option seems like an embedded extension, which is bad, because Chromium based browsers need no extension for this purpose.
I lacks night mode too, and more surprisingly, I seeked but did not find a task manager in it, and this is a huge problem.
It also crashed for no apparent reason.
Later I found that Blisk crashed too from trying to browse a long text message in my gmail.
Gmail as a user experience is lousy and deserves a review in its own right.
I only had a few tabs open, and a single Youtube tab was the heaviest of them.
I guess not.
I guess that the heaviest one was gmail.

Sort:  

I have heard about this browser and was curious, thanks for saving me the trouble.

They are in beta, and their goals for Brave are kinda incredible.

https://basicattentiontoken.org

Beware of trusting others' (including me) words.
They/we may be biased/agenda driven/bribed and try to manipulate you in their/our desired way.
I only described my experience.
Yours may be better, and you may find that I was wrong and show me where I was wrong.
Maybe I failed to find features that it has.
I remember that I read in a covert promotional thread about it by one of the prominent orcas that it rewards its users, but when I read about it in Brave itself, it was not clear to me if I can be rewarded, since I was not required to choose a password or provide any other personal detail.
In this aspect it resembles installation of every other browser - not more complicated.

Brave also is releasing the Brave Attention Token that they are designing to take the big tech companies out of the equation between content provider, consumer and advertiser. It is a pretty awesome plan, if you ask me. Instead of ad delivery companies getting all the revenue, it goes to users and content creators.

https://basicattentiontoken.org

From the link that you provided:

From the creator of JavaScript and the co-founder of Mozilla and Firefox,

Tells me to stay away from it while it also explains about why Firefox is evil.

with a solid team – funded by Founders Fund, Foundation Capital, Propel Venture Partners, Pantera Capital, DCG, Danhua Capital, and Huiyin Blockchain Venture among others.

No clue about any of these, yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99