Brave browser needs a security update

in #brave7 years ago

Some malware got into the Brave browser I am having issues getting into Facebook.

Its a years old virus I had dealt with once before but I can't remember how to fix it.

Every time I go back its a different type of virus software it wants me to install.

A friend suggested I check my MSQL certificate. Any other ideas?

Sort:  

Have you tried from a different browser to verify it's a Brave issue? Tor, perhaps?
I gave you my other suggestions already.
Best of luck to you with it :/

It seems to be coming from their own domain name, so unless they got hacked, I think it's just their auto-updater, and AVG identifies it as a virus.

By the way, it's a bad idea to allow your antivirus to hook into the browser like that and check URLs. What it's doing is acting as a "man in the middle attacker" and can see your whole traffic, and then sell that data. Plus, it can create all sorts of security issues. AVG may also be the one blocking you access to Facebook.

You should tweet at Brave on Twitter and ask them what the URL is, but I think it's theirs (strange name, though).

I don't have the built in search bar but avg free is running. I cleared 93 threats using malwarebytes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99