Today I almost got marriedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #brasil7 years ago (edited)

Today was supposed to be a big day. Don´t get me wrong, I am not really the marrying type, but today was the day when my partner for six years and me were set to register our marriage at the local notary´s office.

After six years of complete happiness together and not getting any younger, we thought we would legally register our relationship and celebrate at the end of the year when my family are visiting. Fortunately, there were no disappointed guests, as today was supposed to be just the legal part and I was not jilted at the altar…

Armed with all the relevant documents and in our best togs we arrived this afternoon at the notary´s office to be told that my birth certificate (although translated from English) was not valid. Yes, we live in BRAZIL, where there is a new law that officially translated documents are only valid for 90 days and then have to be translated by an officially translator registered in the state all over again.

We walked away from the office unmarried.

I am too disappointed to post a photo.

Sort:  

6 years is like counting every minute, wish you will get married soon

Thank you @ironcoin - I hope so too. I think we will now wait until the summer and have a proper party :) :)

I'll look forward to your next post with some happier news 👰💍🔔

Thank you @scottish01. Yesterday wasn´t the best one, but I woke up today with both feet firmly planned on the ground and ready to go about my business with a smile. :)

Well done you, nothing else for it but to smile and get on with things 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64269.55
ETH 3490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53