Brainwashing and the idea of SELF constructed by pop-culture, mass-media, and show business

in #brainwashing5 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steemit! As I was browsing news posts here today, I came across a video on a very controversial subject. Apparently, the issue is that a well-known makeup brand named Sephora promotes the fact that a little boy is allowed to use make up to "be himself". The video is actually named so - "11 Year Old Boy PRAISED For Wearing Makeup To Identify As His “True Self”. If you are curious, you can find it here 

I understand that in this particular story people are very concerned about gender vs. sex ideology in western society. The whole issue revolves about whether it's right or wrong to see "gender" as something fluid and not dependent on a person's biological sex. But I won't go into the "gender thing" now. When I was a teenager, I myself had issues with my gender identity (and many other things for that matter), and it's a whole other big  discussion. 

This video didn't call my attention because the person in question is a little boy. In fact, I would be just as horrified if this young human being was a girl

Do you know why? 

Because my concern is the other, bigger thing that's going on. 

It's truly disturbing to me to see that any person - a grown woman, a grown man, or even worse, a little child,  needs to use face paint to be their TRUE SELF. 

What the hell is going on in human society? I am not sure if anyone else can see the absurdity of these issues which clearly come from heavy pop-culture, show business, and mass-media brainwashing. We, the people, are being taught that we absolutely need STUFF and LOOKS to express ourselves. 

I am not kidding you, I have known women who wouldn't get out of their apartment to walk down the corridor to throw the trash out without putting a ton of make up on their face. I have known people - both male and female - who wouldn't feel comfortable if they got exposed to people without putting on a certain style of clothes. 

The issue is not that the person in the video is a boy. To me, the more pressing issue is that self-expression, being comfortable with oneself, or even just being YOURSELF is associated with drawing a mask on your face. 

What do you think? Am I exaggerating the whole thing, or is this social world going more and more nuts? Would you want your 11-year-old be dependent on make up to feel comfortable? Do you rely on a certain style when you go out in public? 

Just some questions to think about. 

Sort:  

Iam stay with you in this point to. No child no man and no woman ho needs makeup or operations to be himself, is healthy for me. One of a lot parts mankind do not understand that this is a maden problem from the people, ho do not need money to act. ;-)

The people will say you should be more tolerant, i say do not hear them. They are in the madness. And if the in the madness the dont know what they do.
Perfekt slaves...

Congratulations @araksa-dragonkey! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55