Happy Boxing Day! Wait...what the hell is that? Explained! (By an American)

in #boxingday7 years ago (edited)

Untitled.jpg

So I woke up this morning, the day after Christmas (DEC 26th) to find my twitter feed filled with #BoxingDay hash tags.

So I thought to myself, what is this? I've heard this every year and never bothered to take a look into the holiday.

But today I decided to and here's what I found!

Untitled1.png

So in my research "Boxing Day" is a holiday in the UK (and Canada) where it was tradition to give a "Christmas Box" to workers that do a service in the community and usually never get thanked for.

Like a Post man or Garbage man or anyone of service that traditionally doesn't make much money.

So in short, today is the day to maybe give a little gift to a hard worker around your town, or even something as simple as a Thank you!

You'd be surprised how grateful a simple "Thank You" will be to people who really need to hear it.

Please leave a comment if this is pretty close the what the actual holiday is, or what it means to you if your in the UK or Canada!

Thank you.

Please give me a follow! @reseller

Sort:  

Happy Boxing day bro..i just followed you.!!!

Thanks, much appreciated!

Sounds like it would be something you'd do for Christmas anyway.
I send gifts to my pet sitter and local police officers we pray for as a family.

Yeah that's probably the traditional meaning of boxing day. It's a lot more like a Canadian "Black Friday" than a charitable day. Big sales and los of shopping. A time best to avoid the stores, in my opinion.

Ah bummer, hoping it was more of a charitable day! Thanks for the comment.

Australia has boxing day as well if i remember right but i thought it was because it is the day we throw out the boxes from the christmas presents

@lpv I thought it was something like that too, makes sense.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Reseller on Steemit from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

@minnowsupport Thanks, I will look into that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46