I have always loved boxing but sometimes it is a massive rip off.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #boxing8 years ago

A bit different to my usual subject but I have been meaning to write this blog for sometime now.

I am a life long boxing fan, I have always been fascinated by what I believe is the most unpredictable and exciting sport out of them all. Most people might not know this but my YouTube channel was originally used mainly for boxing videos. I love Mike Tyson, Muhammad Ali, Evander Holyfield, James Toney, Naseem Hamed, Vasyl Lomachenko, Manny Pacquiao and many others. I admire the defensive abilities of Floyd Mayweather, the speed, skill and size of Tyson Fury and I love the history to boxing. From Jack Johnson to Muhammad Ali, Mike Tyson and Tyson Fury boxing has always been closely linked to politics.

The reason for this is boxers tend to come from oppressive harsh backgrounds, they are not usually as politically conditioned as the rest of society, if it was not for boxing most would admit that a potential life of crime and even prison would await them. These people are warriors and warriors are not scared of anything least of all speaking their mind and that tends to get them in to trouble.

So boxing has always been my favourite sport.

But I am beginning to notice a disturbing pattern with boxing. For example a couple of weeks ago I watched Andre Ward fight Sergey Kovalev, it was an alright fight but it was completely ruined by a ridiculous decision. I like Andre Ward and I liked him even more after the fight he showed guts and bravery that most people do not have, but he lost! I don’t care if the fight is in the USA, Sergey Kovalev was dominate through much of the fight and though Ward fought back hard and nicked a few rounds he didn’t win the fight.

Mayweather vs Pacquiao, at first watch I believed Mayweather won, the commentators are so pro Mayweather and they do influence your mind. After watching the fight again I believe that Pacquiao won mainly due to the inactivity of Mayweather. He slowed the fight down and made Pacquiao miss but slowing down the fight and dodging does not win fights. Pacquiao was the aggressor and he landed more punches than Mayweather despite what HBO stats tell us, recounts have proven HBO stats are like everything corporate MONEY GUIDED BULLSHIT. Similar result to when he fought Castillo the first time. Mayweather vs Maidana 1 was not even close watch the fight, Maidana won nearly every round on punches landed surely that is how a fight should be scored unless harder punches are being landed by the opponent.

The pattern I speak of is the fact that foreign fighters are being robbed in the United States when they fight Americans.

American commentators, boxers and so called experts desperately tell us why the American fighter won but I do not believe that even they believe it. Take Paulie Malignaggi he knows his boxing and he gives speeches after his fight on the corruption in boxing yet he than tells us he scored the fight to Ward! I don’t believe him. He called Manny Pacquiao a sore loser when Pacquiao claimed he believed he beat Mayweather and the judges got it wrong. Yet when he ends up on the wrong end of a close decision he cries.. I guess to work for News Corporation you have to be a puppet.

Even more concerning is the fact that boxers or boxing promoters are now being allowed to hand pick opponents, look at the heavyweight division we have Anthony Joshua, Joshua Parker, Luis Ortiz, Tyson Fury, Wladimir Klitschko, Deontay Wilde and David Haye yet none of these other than Tyson Fury and Wladimir Klitschko have fought each other. Too many world champions and it is ruining the sport.

Anthony Joshua is a household name in the UK but he really has not fought anybody proven to be world class yet, he has just beat up average opponents. Deontay Wilde is the same and David Haye seems happy to spend what remains of his career beating up mediocre opponents that don’t belong in the ring with him (at least he is not a world champion unlike Wilder and Joshua.)

I respect these people and I also believe the promoters are much to blame, they want to milk the cash cow before taking real risks but the sport suffers as a result.

As everybody knew would happen Joshua knocked out Eric Molina with no problem, but why was he even in the ring and on PPV at £17.50 with Molina in the first place? Especially when Dillian Whyte who gave Joshua a good fight last year was fighting Dereck Chisora on the same night. Either one of them would have been better than what we ended up with. Not that I would pay £17.50 for it in the first place!

http://wolvoman80.co.uk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33