Is Canelo Alvarez really guilty?

in #boxing6 years ago

Take my opinion, as it is, an opinion. But I feel it is an educated one. I am a fan of both fighers. And for those who don't know, Canelo failed 2 drug test for his rematch against GGG which ended in a controversial draw.

Canelo, possibly the biggest name in Boxing since the Retirement of Floyd Mayweather Jr, puts boxing on a bad place right now, as it is a general belief of many that Canelo is making false excuses, where Canelo claims he failed due to the bad quality of meat he was eating in his home country of Mexico.

I won't be surprised for a professional athlete to be on something and I am not saying that Canelo wasn't dirty. However, this whole situation seems bit overblown to me. Bear with me.

Canelo is caught with Clenbuterol and he blamed it on the bad quality meat. However, this is not new, it has been the case before too that this happens in Mexico amongst other athletes, and other boxers, where they have Clenbuterol in their system. Mexico does have a case of injecting hormones in their cows and meat. So to me this isn't an impossible claim like many think it to be.

Clenbuterol is not a steroid either. Canelo was given the clearing by officials as there was a trace amount, however, when GGG kept making noise then they took actions on Canelo, which to me seems like the result of GGG making noise, not the result of the drug test.

I personally feel that Canelo's claim is believable, whether its true or not. the reaction of some of the media when they act like the claim of meat is ridiculous is ridicoulous in itself. Besides all this, Canelo has passed all of the drug tests before this and he has done several test with VADA which to me is a better anti-doping agency than all


Source of pic: https://www.elnuevodia.com/deportes/boxeo/nota/golovkinnoencuentrareemplazoparacaneloalvarez-2414240/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50