Table tossing Chisora gets fine and suspended ban... but Whyte fight is still ON!

in #boxing8 years ago (edited)

Table toss

After throwing water in Dillion Whyte's face on The Gloves Are Off promo show, heavyweight Derek Chisora went one better yesterday, throwing a TABLE at his opponent, Dillion Whyte ahead of their WBA world title eliminator on Saturday night.

Fine and suspended ban

Today the British Boxing Board of Control announced,

  • the fight WILL be allowed go ahead
  • Derek Chisora will be fined £25,000 plus £5000 costs
  • Chisora will also recieve a suspended two-year ban
  • the fight will no longer be for the British Title
  • the fight will still be for the WBA World title eliminator
  • the two fighters will weigh in separately

Verbal sparring

Chisora's outburst was triggered by taunts from Whyte like,

"I swear on my children's life, everywhere I see you for the rest of my life... I'm going to attack you... even after the fight. Trust me.

Continuing

"You will pay for it [throwing water in Whyte's face]. On Saturday and after Saturday, I'm gonna get you.

Chisora took this pre-fight verbal sparring to heart (like anyone with serious intent of "threatening his life" would announce it at a pre-fight press conference). Chisora had wound himself up to the point of taking off his sunglasses and delivering the best lines of the press conference,

Look me in my eyes, if you think I'm a pussy, I'm punk you tell me right now... 'cause listen [thumping the table with his fist] I'm am the baddest man you'll ever fucking meet!

Then away went the table!

All I can say is... if Chisora's boxing technique is half as good as his table tossing technique... we're in for one hell of a fight come Saturday night!!

Sort:  

Think Whyte will win but will be an interesting fight

Woah! When I first heard about this I just thought; meh, a couple of palookas trying to promote their lame fight. However that is genuine animosity from Chisora; he does seem to have a temper problem, though the Haye thing was more promotional wasn't it?

If he goes in this angry, but controlled, he'll win; however I don't think much of his boxing skills and I've never seen Whyte fight; will it make me buy the match?

Probably not... but I'll keep an eye out for the result :-)

Thanks Nanzo!

Cg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84