You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Floyd Mayweather vs. Conor McGregor

in #boxing7 years ago

Exactly, Floyd should just watch out when the real verbal contest starts. He did face some serious trash talkers in the past, but nobody was even close to Conor. Floyd certainly has some inner demons and Conor will find them out! I can't wait - 57 days 6 hours and 5 mins as I write this.

Sort:  

Don't you think that maybe trash talking is just part of the game to make these stuff more appealing to the masses? Maybe it worked back in the old days, when it was new, but do you think fighters now pay any attention to this stuff?

Conor has an enormous confidence and self-belief and he genuinely believes he is going to win.

Again, I might just be a tad too cynical, but this just reminds me of how every time an artist releases an album, it's always their "best album to date". Given how much marketing is a part of everything today, I'd think it's part of boxing and MMA too. What is a fighter supposed to say? "I think I have a slightly above-average chance of winning the fight"? At any rate, being positive is a core part of being prepared psychologically for the fights, so they must believe they're going to win.

Oh absolutely, it's also a part of the game. It especially goes for Conor, he needs to pump those pay per view numbers as he is still nobody in the boxing world. Floyd doesn't have to do a lot on this front as he invested both time and money in building his personal brand. However, I'd not underestimate the effect when these talks go over certain limits. These guys are fighters with tremendous egos and therefore with a slightly lower threshold for aggressiveness than you and me (maybe, ha, ha). It can be devastating if someone clearly starts to mess with the other's head.

Oh I don't know if they got lower thresholds! First, they can be more easily sued when they're professionals. Second, they let out steam in the gym every day. Third, being around that kind of environment, there must be a lot of talk and advice over the years on how to control your aggression. So I think, because by definition they are more 'intelligently aggressive' than us, we're much more liable to do something stupid in that arena!

I've just read that Conor is already pushing Dana White for fighting Khabib in Russia. This is of course after the fight with Floyd. This describes his spirit and determination at its best. He is not concerned with Floyd at all...

Yeah that's a fight everyone wants to see!

Btw, what did you think about his Nate Diaz fights? The first one, Diaz won hands down, obviously. But the second one, I think the judges made the wrong decision! I think Diaz won that one too! And there was one round (maybe the second?), that, if it lasted a bit more, Diaz would've finished it.

But do I think Diaz is a better fighter overall? No. It's strange. But this is how I see it: Diaz is a fighter who will, let's say, lose half his fights. If Conor is pitted against the same fighters Diaz faces, Conor will win most of them. In that sense, Conor is a better fighter. However, that doesn't change the fact that I think Diaz will win against Conor, again and again probably, until Conor evolves and beats him. I guess Diaz possesses something that works especially well against Conor. And one of these somethings may actually be his boxing! Which is what worries me about the Floyd fight, since now that's a proper boxer.

It's rather late here, I hope I'm making sense!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63966.12
ETH 2753.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66