Floyd Mayweather vs Connor McGregor Announced: What Does This Mean For The Sport of Boxing?

in #boxing7 years ago (edited)


The long talked about boxing match between Floyd Mayweather and UFC champion Connor McGregor has finally been announced. It will take place on August 26th in Las Vegas. Some view it as very intriguing matchup among fighters from different sports, while others see it as a circus show for a quick and easy profit.

Floyd is one of only two fighters to have retired with an undefeated record of 49 consecutive wins, the other being former heavyweight legend Rocky Marciano. Assuming Mayweather beats McGregor, he would become the first boxer to ever retire with 50 wins and no losses. Is this fight just an easy pick for Mayweather though?

This is the most high profile example of two fighters from different combat sports competing against each other, but there have been other crossovers in the past.

Former multi-division boxing champion James Toney took off the boxing gloves and entered MMA against UFC legend Randy Couture. Toney was taken down immediately and submitted easily. Under MMA rules he no ground skills to defend against Couture.

Another example is former world boxing champion Vince Phillips who fought in a kickboxing match for the K-1 organization against K-1 Max champion Masato. The result was Masato dominating the bout with leg kicks and stopping the boxer with the one element that isn’t in the sport of boxing.

The results of these two fights should have come as no surprise, but there is one last example where the fighter going into the different sport actually won and won big. Former heavyweight Olympic gold medalist and professional world heavyweight champion Ray Mercer went up against former UFC heavyweight champion Tim Sylvia and knocked him out with a single punch in under 20 seconds into the fight.

So is this match merely a circus show or a legitimate contest?

It will be under boxing rules, which gives Mayweather a clear advantage. For mostly this reason, I predict FLoyd will KO McGregor with ease in the middle rounds of the fight. While MMA and boxing have some similarities, they also have some glaring differences. McGregor is a very good striker in MMA, but FLoyd has been boxing literally since he was in the cradle. To say that Floyd has mastered the sweet science is an understatement. So to think Connor has any chance whatsoever is foolishness.

Does this fight hurt the sport of boxing?

The whole event itself is too similar to a circus to me, but this one fight won't hurt the sport in the long run. I also don’t think it will necessarily usher in a new era of these fights between combat sport athletes, but this fight is definitely the biggest event of these kinds of fights. The build up of this fight will probably be a bigger event than the action in the ring.

I’ll still be watching this fight out of curiosity but I’m much more focused on other fights coming up such as Ward vs Kovalev II, Canelo vs Golovkin, and Garcia vs Broner as well as seeing some of my favorite boxers like Lomachenko and Chocolatito. I will be making an effort to not pay attention to all the hype that is on the way for Mayweather vs McGregor, but the silver lining is that maybe some MMA fans will start to become fans of boxing or vice versa. In that respect it could be a beneficial fight for both sports. Nevertheless, this will be the easiest money Floyd Mayweather has ever made.

Pics:
Instagram..com/floydmayweather/

Sources:
youtube
http://boxrec.com/boxer/352

Sort:  

It will be under boxing rules, which gives Mayweather a clear advantage. For mostly this reason, I predict FLoyd will KO McGregor with easy in the middle rounds of the fight.

I agree with you. The boxing rules are going to benefit Mayweather.

It would be somewhat comical if McGregor let a leg kick or two sneak in amidst boxing.

I'll be watching all this for curiousity. I'm an MMA fan, and the only boxing I watch are the super fights.

lol true @lydon.sipe, it would be hilarious if McGregor started kicking. At first glance, I thought this was an MMA fight, to which I would've voted for McGregor, but i completely agree. Under boxing rules, this is Mayweather's fight. upvoted and followed both of you @lydon.sipe and @doitvoluntarily

Thanks for the upvote and follow!

Btw, I am rooting for McGregor. We'll see what happens. :)

To be honest, Conor is not really renowned for his kicks. Mayweather is by far the better boxer, with results and a lifetime of experience on his side, but Conor is also a heavy hitter and pretty much a "mixed martial artist boxer". Floyd is the favorite, but it is really interesting to watch and I believe it could go either way.

You're right. He just has that in his repertoire.

I think someone compared McGregor to a junior level boxer, so yes, Mayweather is clearly the better boxer.

It will be fun to watch, and I imagine Mayweather will you with McGregor at first to see what his speed is. After that, I expect a boom.

I love boxing -- been training since I was in grade school.

But once you've seen MMA, or even K1 style kickboxing, the sport can be hard to watch.

This will be an exciting fight with a guaranteed exciting build-up. All fight fans will enjoy this!

+1 I've started MMA being 37 yo, enjoying so much!

I agree with you 100%. It will not hurt boxing since those crossover matches have been around for a while ( I am pretty sure even Mohammed Ali had one, and just got leg kicked.)
But it will give MMA more exposure and will be a great payday for everyone being involved.

I also dont see McGregor taking this onebut I sure hope, he will put up a good fight, as he will play a lot of touch butt in the park as Nate Diaz would say.

Hey enjoyed your take on this , nice to see someone with some historical knowledge voice an opinion on this clash of styles ..... please read my article from yesterday where I posed a slightly different point of view and gave Mcgregor a reason to be optimistic ..... followed and look forward to future posts

https://steemit.com/blog/@gamma-rat/mayweather-vs-mcgregor-fight-of-the-year-or-farce-of-the-century

Means it is a joke if Connor wins!

Conor has ZERO experience in boxing, 0 WINS 0 DRAWS 0 LOSES in boxing. This is all about the money. As Floyd would say easy work! As Manny Pacman said you don't fight a shark in the water, you fight him on land! It will be one of the biggest money making fights ever. I will even try to go it see it if my husband is healthy enough by then. Then the flip side to the coin is Conor is younger and still has that hunger and has this ability to manifest what his minds thinks up, so the flip side is anything can happen its a fight, two men doing battle. Unless it's fixed for the money! Coming from a womans point of view! haha

As Mayweather once said "Hittin' on me ain't shit if you can't hit me!" He is one of the best counter-punchers in boxing, so Conor will be hitting thin air all night long in this one. This is a pure business transaction, pure and simple. Mayweather stopped doing things for us pure boxing fans many moons ago!

I agree mindhunter 💯 it's all business.

How is the #giveaway article going? I slept in late today! I didn't sleep well my first night back home ... but gettin' back in the groove noo!

It's done I wrote 2 other articles as well. 😀 Tired now I need you to look over the contest details in chat when I wake up. Good night 🤤

OK Boss. The day shift will take care of the business noo! Got rest that sexy brain of yours now ;) Nite nitey. <3

🤳🏼👀👅👄✌🏻😽Night I have a lot to tell you later. Wow talk to you in 6 hours lol

I just had the most relaxing 8.5 hour sleep ever last night! ... Steemin' like a wild bee today :) Hee-hee! Talk later ... Zzzzzzz!

TOTALLY agree on this! Both great fighters in their own sports but even greater Marketers, this will be the most money making fight EVER. Floyd wont leave it to chance, pretty sure it'll be fixed...

It will most likely be fixed. This will generate so much money they both could retire. Well Floyd is! Even if it's not fixed you're putting somebody with zero experience in boxing against one of the greatest defense fighters. The other thing I was thinking about is if Conor doesn't retire and continues to fight after this payday, he must have psychological problems LOL 😂because why would you want to take more punishment and damage continuing to fight, especially in MMA where it's a tough sport and people get injured all the time. This is also a good fight for Floyd because Conor can sell anything just as good as Floyd Mayweather. But I'm just speculating you never know. LoL

0 WINS 0 DRAWS 0 LOSES in boxing doesn't mean that he can't fight in boxing.
MMA is mixed style you have all the same stuff

Trust me, my husband was a pro MMA fighter and ZERO experience in the Boxing ring means ZERO, especially when you go up against the best defensive fighter in the world. Manny couldn't even hit him, what makes you think Conor will?
Deep down I want Conor to pull it off. I am an MMA fan, my husband fought, women are fighting in the sport and I just love it. But C'mon, lets put the experience aside for a second and keep this real! This is all about the money.

It's quite risky for boxing. If Floyd loses then it's really bad for boxing, if Connor loses it's not that bad. He can just go back to UFC and still a champion of lightweight. So the pressure will be on Floyd

I dont think it will hurt boxing, but maybe Conor's feeling.

lol!

I think Conor Will Get HURT !!
ON HIS FEET !!
NO NO That can't Happen, they're Boxing !!
tumblr_inline_ngy9xeEYIf1sj0dks.gif

Good post ... hard and interesting match ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44