5 Steem Bounty: Advice on throwing away old stuff

in #bounty6 years ago

asdsdfgdf.JPG

This weekend I decided to throw away some old stuff that my family does not need anymore, and believe me, it was a lot...

The weirdest thing happened when I started throwing away old stuff. I was feeling pain! The pain was not very strong, but with each piece that I threw away, there was a little sting. What the fuck is going on? I was not expecting this.

I don't feel any pain when a bad investment goes to zero, but when throwing away old stuff, I do? That is kinda ridiculous...

To be honest I don't usually go through old stuff and throw away what I don't need anymore. I do that very rarely. Usually, I just store it in the basement.

Today, I threw away clothes, furniture, old documents, and paraphernalia...

The best explanation and advice on how to not feel the sting the next time will be rewarded with 5 STEEM.

Sort:  

Dear @ew-and-patterns, i think your old stuff are good memories in your life, i do not see anything bad in your feelings.
You are lucky to have place where you keep that, but of course if you are doing it means something better is coming like place for childs or new comers, so do not feel bad and do not think is stupid to have such feelings.
I suggest you to this my post i made some months ago:
https://steemit.com/life/@intellihandling/it-was-not-serious-post
I hope you will like it...:)))

@ew-and-patterns has set 5.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties are a new way you can earn rewards irrespective of you Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

Getting rid of old stuffs in this context hurts because its just like getting rid of memories. You really don't don't need these items but you still feel hurt getting rid of them because of the memories tied to these items. So the best way to get rid these things without feeling the sting is to take a picture of those things that you feel bad throwing away and upload them somewhere like Facebook for safekeeping. Now you don't feel the sting anymore because you can always go back to the photo album and see those stuffs again. This is the trick I use and I hope it works for you too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, I have read through the comments and the situation seems quite different.

Leaving in a third world, under developed country like mine (Cameroon) life is very much difficult and so we rarely throw away old stuffs except worst case scenarios.

Personally, I do not throw away my stuffs even when they are bad. I repair (patch) my dresses and shoes or give them out to friends and young ones if they become smaller (not fitting). I can only throw away a cloth or shoe that is beyond repair.

For electronics, spare parts are very useful here as you would find many electronics repair shops and few retailing shops around. Thus, I do not throw away old or bad electronic gadgets. Many times parts from my old electronic gadgets have help me in repairing new ones.

In All, I barely throw away old stuffs!

This idea behind this post is amazing though, I felt good letting out my situation :)

Have a great weekend!

Posted using Partiko Android

Its always good to take time to time to clean out your home and reaccess the things you've bought and your purchasing habits. I normally try to give the clothes and goods to charity where possible, recycle if its kind of garbage and sell some things on classified sites if it still has some value. Not that I haggle much about the price I just want to get rid of it

So I make a bit of money and I make a few people a bit happier and more comfortable

Its simple, you had an emotional attachment to the material possessions. Perhaps when you bought an item lets say, you felt bad that day - then made a purchase to fill the void! Its why so many are obsessed with Shopping! When you were throwing the items away, you were bringing back up the emotion (subconsciously) BUT then releasing it, hence you were better afterwards. Too much material will weigh you down, so if you understand the process and what you're doing next time, it will feel great. Turn it into a ritual, next time put your fave music on loud, grab some fave snacks and have fun with it, throw out what no longer serves you & allow the new in that does! :) My steem account a9e19983b7e7484b971 on bittrex ;)

There is a simple rule which says that if you haven´t used it in the last 6 month you don´t need it anymore. Getting rid clothes is the easiest thing for me. Once you learned to live with less stuff it feels so much better. Everything I own at the moment fits into a carry on baggage. Feels so good.

and as already said, don´t throw it away, sell it.

I believe you that it must feel better to live with less stuff. But I can't throw away half of what I have in my house ;-) just because I didn't use it in the last 6 months.

I think it´s more a saying than a rule :)

I also still got stuff in someones basement. Who knows, one day I might need it.

My advice is simple: "if you doubt about whether to keep old stuff or not, just ask youself such question - Does this thing makes me happy?" If yes, keep this stuff and ged rid of it, if no.

I actually did some spring cleaning myself over the weekend with the family. It is amazing how clutter can often build up without us realizing it. Luckily, my better half knows what I need and don’t and when I give her the ok to clean, she does a great job without me knowing what was sacrificed. So I would say delegate to another person with some rules and boundaries. It avoids the loss of memories and attachment.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi,
You can always donate your lightly used stuff to charity. It feels good knowing someone else can use your stuff. You should give it away or repurpose it. Others have garage sales or donate it to church garage sales. Get rid of your junk, feel good cleaning and don't buy things you don't need in the first place. Really just giving it to someone who may have a purpose for it will make you feel much better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65