Boulder Sunday - Between A Rock & A Hard Place

in #bouldersunday4 years ago

As a good citizen I did my part in extreme social distancing last weekend. But then a bunch of other people decided to do the same thing, even some firemen and county workers! What I mean to say is last weekend when I was out hunting minerals there were a ton of people out in the mountains and the desert enjoying their COVID19 lives too. Many clumped up in large groups of motorhomes and ATV's.

During that time I went to a nemesis mountain of mine, Haystack. It's a mountain of boulders I've written about before, https://steemit.com/bouldersunday/@rt395/boulder-sunday-haystack-mountain. In the past I've tried to scale it and failed. This time was the same, but a bit more rewarding.

IMG_6187.jpg

This was a group of boulders that got in my way and set me on a route that would change my day towards the positive. Two giant, granite boulders about 12' tall each seemed to have been separated thousands of years ago and captured a little one as it tried to roll down the mountain.

As I started to go around the boulders I saw very fresh scat from that morning. My concern was of a mountain lion, so I decided to turn around and go to the other end of the mountain to a spot that had produced very well for me in the past.

That turned out to be an amazing decision. It lead me to 3 thick veins of amazonite & smokey quartz.

IMG_6192.jpg

IMG_6195.jpg

The views from this side were amazing.

IMG_6189.jpg

Unfortunately it was nearing noon and I had to get on the road to make it back home. I quickly broke out some material and saved the good stuff for another dig.

The mountain may have bested me, but I still plundered some of her treasure.

IMG_6202.jpg

IMG_6199.jpg

I'll be back....

Sort:  

What a magnificent place to get away to, guess others had
the same idea! lol
Glad you found some beautiful minerals and not a mountain lion,
tho that would of looked cool on top of those gorgeous boulders! :-)
Wow that is some real pretty amazonite @rt395!
Such a nice view there looking back down the valley, I see a
pick-up truck in the distance. (echo) lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56556.00
ETH 2492.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22