My Submission for Bottle Art Challenge #2 | Cinderella Themed Bottle ArtsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bottleartchallenge7 years ago (edited)

I love a good challenge. Furthermore, I love pushing boundaries and flexing the design skills and creativity with some open ended work. So much of what I do freelance that "pays the bills" is for someone else, and while I enjoy what I do, it's sometimes nice to take a Sunday afternoon and just have a play.

GitHub Logo

So that's what I did. I found the first #bottleartchallenge post a week or so ago and meant to participate but work and energy levels, and burnout from the week prior got the best of me so I missed it. I was thrilled to see that @andreanoronha posted a new one a few days ago and jumped right on it. You can see the full post -> HERE

Here's my submission before and after:

GitHub Logo

I'm going to be honest, I'm not really a Disney Princess person, never was. Even as a kid, with maybe the exception of Pocahontas, because she lived in the woods, went cliff diving, talked to trees and her best friends were a raccoon and a hummingbird. Talk about living your best life. Oh did I mention she shot a bow? Ugh. Girl knows what's up.

Like I said, I wanted to push myself so sure, I don't know jack about Cinderella but I did some research and found a quote from the film I wanted to use. I created the typography in Illustrator and exported it as a PNG to add to the bottle in Photoshop where I added a few different layers of sparkles, and glass fragment textures.

GitHub Logo
I tried a few versions of the bottle texture before I settled on this, a few that mimicked the curves and fabric draping of a dress, but none of them looked right to me. I decided to go with something more MAGIKUL and SHINEYYYY. The facets of the main layer and crystal clustery thing you can see on the bottle are adapted from this image.
GitHub Logo

I almost NEVER wear skirts, but I'd make an exception for this one. Yes it's battery operated, yes it's TARDIS blue and YES IT BLINKS. Dead. Had to incorporate this somehow.
GitHub Logo

I topped the whole thing off with some reflections and shadows to try to preserve the luminosity and glittery glass feel of the bottle that I wanted. Then tweak tweak tweak of positioning, layer opacity, alignment, overlays, MORE overlays, I think this final piece ended up having over 50 layers, because I'm extra and can't help myself. More than anything I wanted to challenge myself for as much realism as possible so that I'd be left with a convincing mockup as well as a design I was happy with.

Overall I'm pretty happy with how it came out. Tried my best not to make it too fluffy or girly, because Cindarella, girl, you gotta get your -ish together love. Losing shoes all over town? Cmon... Could you imagine going out drinking with this chick, no shoes, and throwing up in the back of the Uber at 2 am?

Cindy, gurl, get it together.

I hope you enjoyed this submission as much as I enjoyed making it and sharing my process with you. It really helps my brain to just have an open ended play to keep the juices flowing and creative brain sharp.

GitHub Logo

Wherever you are, I hope you're having a lovely day (it's stunning here at the moment, getting a lot of energy and optimism from my friend the Sun today)

<3

The girl who ain't losing her shoes all over town.

» TWEET ME «
» YOUTUBES «
» INSTARARA «
» VOICE OVRZ «
Sort:  

super fire. really love that.

Danka danka love! <3

Hey, like I mentioned earlier, awesome art! And I'm happy that I wasn't the only one who mistook @andreanoronha's metaphor of 'Cinderella makeover' to be the actual Cinderella :D

If you wouldn't mind sharing, how did you layer on the created texture so precisely onto the bottle. Using the magic wand tool or by using paste-into? (Or some other method, which I'd be happy to learn)

Thank you! I layered a ton of different things on top, tried to use the 3d presets but I couldn't quite get them to look right, all of the layers are masks though, so once you get a good cut out of the bottle shape that's what gives the "wrapped" look

Maybe I should post a tutorial on it?

Yes, you totally should! I've never gotten round to using layer masks. I just create multiple layers via cut/copy and work on them!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Dayleeo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

It's a bottle of stars, Much wow!

Thanks for sharing and taking the time to get this one together. <3

thank you thank you friend!

This post received a 5% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67033.58
ETH 3521.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20