Help me understand bots - thanks! :)

in #bots5 years ago

bz9rrapptg.jpg

I have a question what is the difference between paid bots and people that use bots they own to vote up people besides their own vote?

Some may use over 30 bots on one post.

Why not just one big upvote from themselves, what is the advantage?

I am not against either paid or owned bots. Just trying to figure out how some are against paid bots yet not against auto bots hitting them over 30 times.

I was hesitate to ask but really want to understand.

Feel free to upvote me with 30 bots as I am all for them.
Because I am not against paid ones either.

Thanks
@rebeccabe
upvote, resteem, comment

This post created using #esteem by @good-karma

Be sure and check out in discord or just click the hashtag for more great posts.

#steemitbloggers
#steemusa
#teamgood
#needleworkmonday

Image source


xjoc77sdn4.png !

945pfbaird.png
053rwfbmvl.png
z5gziwnazb.gif

Sort:  

I've had my fair share of "debates" over paid bots as well... and personally I have no problem with them... just like I have no problem using Google Ads to promote my products/services in the "real world" or using FB/IG Ads to promote my posts over there.

Unfortunately, unlike Google, FB, IG ... the bots on Steemit are used for ROI and have little or nothing to do with "increasing visibility". I used the built-in "promote" option on Steemit quite a bit in the beginning (before I knew anything about Steem/Steemit)... and spoiler alert: it had 0 impact on reaching new users :-(

As far as the "30 automated bots" part of the question goes: I'm not too sure what you are referring to here (do you have an example of a post or 3?)... the only time I've seen this is from those spammy "Resteem services", that promise X resteems/upvotes for a cost... and again, unfortunately (in my experience) are a TOTAL waste of SBD/STEEM.

Well, it would be stupid of me to put their names. I have been on Steemit for 2 years and have stood my ground more than once. I have also learned you do NOT want to make enemies of the people with funds to run multiple accounts to upvote the ones they favor.

Besides I am not against it just want to know the advantage to a whale doing this and why the dolpins approve that and not bidbots.

I can PM you examples in discord.

I agree with what you said about getting increased visibility in Steemit using promote option.

Yeah @rebeccabe ... please PM me some examples... would be keen to see if there's a trick I haven't seen yet :P

LOL, you will make more in comments than this post. Such fear abounds.
BTW: I am not against anyone having multiple voting bots...hope they vote this post up.

I need to find you in discord. I put in @braaiboy no results. You can find me at Rebeccabe...Interesting, I use discord on a daily basis... I just put in @Rebeccabe someone else comes up. Give me your name in discord.

This is NOT me... wow
Screen Shot 2018-11-06 at 3.18.55 PM.png

Also, forgive me I am cooking ..bbl.

hahaha... yeah, discord gets a little weird sometimes... find me in the @steemitbloggers discord (which is how I found you and your post) ... otherwise type in @braaiboy#4913 (P.S. You are @Reccabe#0160).

Re the votes on comments: Yeah... that's thanks to MinnowBooster ... I've been doing a lot of travelling etc. and so all my idle VP went to vote-sales over there, and instead of withdrawing the SBD, it's being (automatically) returned in the form of upvotes on comments.

I need to join MinnowBooster sounds good. I thought I remembered you from @steemitbloggers that group is fantastic too.

sure thing .. I am in @steem-ua
@schoolofminnows is on my list now. :)

Here this one is me.. I looked next to groups
Screen Shot 2018-11-06 at 3.23.11 PM.png Looks like @Rebeccabe#0160
See if that works .. I will check in later.. Life calls .. :)

Loading...

If I understand your question correctly, I think your confusion is really one of terms. "bid bot" is one thing - that is a bot service that you pay SBD/STEEM to for an upvote on your post. There are other forms of automated voting - the most common being following a curation trail. You can set your vote to automatically "trail" after a trusted curator, e.g. @curie or whatever other curation trail head you pick. So many times when a ton of votes come in all at once, it had nothing to do with the author of the post. The post was upvoted by an account at the head of a curation trail, and all the trailing votes showed up because of that.

Or were you asking something else?

Curation trails are fantastic.
Also, auto votes are great. And also I like the ones you invest in like @steem-ua, I invested.
Believe me, I am not against the bid bots you pay. For some, it is the only way to get noticed the promoted choice does not work.

I may buy one for visibility on this otherwise it will go unnoticed most likely.

I have gotten votes by bots owned by folks and am all for that too. The thing that confuses me is how some say one is good and not the other.

Also, what is the advantage of having dead accounts that are only used to upvote what you like? Especially say 30 bots at one time on one post. There has to be an advantage. Why not just one big upvote?

I know folks that are against bid bots only .. wondering why that is so different. Otherwise, the rich control everything.

actually after HF20 there is a strong disadvantage to having multiple smaller votes come in vs. one big vote. Every single vote is shifted down by 1.2 SP now after HF20 - so if 100 votes were all cast at 10SP, each one would be shifted down by 1.2 SP and it would actually be 100 x 8.8 SP = 880 SP voting. Compare that with one single 1000 SP vote - that also gets shifted down by 1.2 SP so it would actually be 998.8 SP voting. Clearly, there is now a strong incentive to vote fewer times and with larger votes, compared with lots of small votes.

These votes were from multiple accounts - bots .. It is cool and I am just trying to show my friend that it is okay to use bidbots. It didn't work lol

Ah I bet I know who you are talking about lol - all the fulltime bots? My understanding there is he is trying to encourage other people to vote on the posts he is supporting - by splitting up his SP into all these accounts, and then having those votes come in slowly over the course of hours and days even, it gives other people a chance to get their vote in and earn some curation from the rest of the fulltime bots that will come in later. So for instance, if you see a post that only has one fulltime bot upvote on it, if you put your vote on it then you will earn some curation for all the remaining fulltime bot votes that come in later. Make sense? (and also, this is totally different from a bid bot - nobody is paying for the fulltime bot upvotes, those are given out freely to accounts that fulltimegeek wants to support)

Very good explanation and I am all for it.

It is auto too. 34 or 40 auto upvotes by the same bot numbered go for it. Still not the same as 34 people upvoting you.

But then some of the same people receiving these put people down when they buy a vote for promotion. It all comes out in the wash.

It seems whatever some people do is okay. I say let everyone do what they want as long as they are happy.

I am not talking about extreme bid bot buying here. That seems to be the go to response. Really I think everyone depending on where they are on the food scale has a different outlook.

It is all good. I accept whatever anyone wants to put down or think. We cannot expect a dolpin or whale to think like a minnow. They forgot. lol

Hasn't any other little minnows ever wondered? I know it is scary to speak out. But we must ask questions to understand the ones in power.

Hi @rebeccabe!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.266 which ranks you at #2632 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 2633).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 265 contributions, your post is ranked at #53.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63950.69
ETH 3311.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92