A personal thank you to @cheetah, @wang , and all the other good bots fighting on the side of justice for Steemit.

in #bots8 years ago (edited)

Having been on Steemit for nearly a month now, I can say conclusively that the most annoying part of the whole experience has been the ceaseless onslaught of bots taking advantage of the system by voting for no reason, leaving useless comments, spamming the shit out of everything, and just generally making a nuisance of themselves (also, a very special fuck you to @weenis, who once even responded with a "lol" when I replied to his comment with a polite "shit off, weenis", or something to that effect).

However, the past week or so has shown that good truly does triumph over evil. I've noticed a significant decrease in the level of bot pollution across the board, and with the introduction of the reputation system (which, thanks to the actions of the good bots in calling out their evil counterparts, has locked the bad ones in an eternal hell of the hidden comment section) I never even have to see the ones that do break through anymore. If this keeps up, the shitbots will be extinct in no time!

My deep gratitude goes out to the creators of these clean machines (I'm gonna single out @anyx because he's the only one I really know, but you know who you are), the unsung heroes of the coding world. I have no idea know how you do it - I once tried to make a simple change to my company website and ended up breaking the whole thing so badly that my IT guy banned me from access for a month - but I salute you for your noble efforts.

A moment of silence, as well, for @wang , the first of many and an innocent victim of progress, who martyred himself for our cause. He will be missed.

I leave you with this excellent video of robots conversing in their native tongue:

Sort:  

Sorry but I will never like bots enforcing their view of what is or isn't' appropriate content based on some algorithms. Humans should be doing the voting and commenting.

I agree in principle, but the bad bots are doing just that. The good ones are helping to prevent it. Fight fire with fire!

@cheetah is great. Wang; im on the fence if ill miss him.

@wang 's intentions were always good, even if he was a bit annoying sometimes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54