Shadowbot: A Bot as Shady as It's Name

in #bots7 years ago (edited)

I decided to try out Shadowbot, because it had this awesome claim that it was a community or some shit, where good steemians were upvoted, and blah blah blah. Turns out it's shit. It's a system primarily based on rewards for upvotes you do for the Shadowbot community, as well as your Steem power. So, it doesn't have so much to do with quality posts, as it claimed, but those that feed back into the system.

What's more is that the first thing that it did was upvote it's own posts, then resteem itself. Excuse me, that's MY feed! Get your grubby hands off it!

There is no way to turn off the resteem "feature", and due to a horrible oversight by the Steem developers, you cannot undo a resteem.

Lovely.

The bot's interface does have an account delete button, but it leads to a broken link, so to stop the bot from spamming with your account, you need to reset your password. This is actually why it managed to do the resteem spam from my account. After looking at the "features" of the bot/app, I decided I probably didn't want to use it, so I attempted to delete my account from the bot. When I hit the broken link, I didn't really want to deal with contacting the developers, so I decided I'd go ahead and try it out for a while. Big mistake.
So, sorry about the Shadowbot posts I just resteemed. I just wanted to try out a tool. I didn't know I would be complicit in a spam ring.

Shadowbot is apparently just another scheme by some shady developer to make money on the Steem site. Didn't you guys learn anything from Star Wars: Battlefront 2? You have to balance the scummyness with the benefits, so you don't piss people off.

The main difference in the Shadowbot scheme is that instead of getting paid directly in Steem for upvotes, they earn rewards from the Shadowbot pool, while spamming all of Steemit with non-consensual resteems. It basically turns you into a member of a Steem botnet.

In my opinion they should be blocked from access, and their account shut down. I'm not really sure if anyone even has that power though. Do they?


(source)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60728.87
ETH 2661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50