In memory of @wangsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bots7 years ago (edited)

... or:

The welcome-bots have taken over (again)


Did you notice, how every # introduceyourself gets instantly flooded with a bunch of automated comments ?
I'm really fed up with it. I've tried talking to the people running them. I've tried shaming them. I've tried retracting my witness vote.

They won't stop !

This happened before. @wang was quite successful with it.
Then his comments got downvoted.


Since you can't help spamming and wasting precious bandwidth, unnecessarily bloating the blockchain, here are some tips on how to fix your bots:

To make sure you only comment every user once:

already_commented = []

if not newbie in already_commented: 

   introduction_post.reply(body=welcome author="yourbot")

   already_commented.append(newbie)

In case the bot crashes, this won't be saved.

Better save it:

with open('already_commented.csv', 'a') as commented:

    writer = csv.writer(commented)
    writer.writerow(newbie)

Or you could use SteemData:

from steemdata import SteemData
s = SteemData()

q = s.Posts.find({'author':comment_author, 'tags':'introduceyourself'}
                  , projection = {'permlink': 1, '_id': 0})

tag_used = len(list(q))

This will return how often an author has used # introduceyourself ( SteemData is not real-time, but takes a snapshot fairly often. )


Beyond that, please consider turning those annoying bots off.

Please also reconsider auto-voting for any form of introduction.

In case you didn't notice:

It's being abused.

I would love the steemcleaners to step up to the challenge, but since I run @goodbot, I can see it happened 1162 times in 21 days. And that's only 3rd time users and beyond.
If anybody has Steem Power to share: At this point I'm willing to just auto-flag those repetitive uses of the newbie-tag along with all the automated welcome messages.

Sort:  

Hi !
This is an automatic message.
According to SteemData, you have now used #introduceyourself 4 times.

You might not be aware of this, but #introduceyourself is mainly used by new accounts, to introduce themselves once. Please consider other, appropriate tags.

good boy :)

Welcome @felixxx, I've followed you, resteemed, upvoted, sent you a tip and bought you a ticket to steemfest. Please do the same for me :)

Scheint zu funktionieren! Gut, dass du das hier nochmal getestet hast... ^^ Ich würde im Kommentar des Bots nur eine Leerzeile nach "times." oder ein "<hr>" machen. Sieht dann glaube ich ansprechender aus. Vielleicht noch ein Icon "Info" oder so hinzufügen, dann sehen die Leute den Kommentar auf jeden Fall besser.

haha, I though this was funny, right? it pick up the tag with suffixed as "-abuse"
until I read your other comment and found you did have the tag in the post before and remove. :-)
heheh. Sometimes, it happens.

This was quite funny :D

In case anybody wonders, why I introduced myself 4 times:

All cases were accidental. I mentioned the tag in my post and it was automatically added to tags. I have removed the tag in every case and have effectively never introduced myself on Steemit.

Welcome to Steemit! :P

I feel you...

Hi @Felixxx its good to see more Steemians around. Have fun in this community. I wish you many followers and new friends :-) Cheers @chrisx

welcome to the community, Felixxx! Wish you much luck! Cheers! Follow me at @khunpoom

bots are the biggest problem steemit has.
they are detrimental to the blockchain.

and detrimental to the community, diluting the conversation

Ive delegated some of my power...We should be able to take down the 1 cents auto up vote on spam coments! Well everyone had to start somewhere...:D I encourage everyone to do the same! Its a good service to the community for little SP delegation:)

I shut down the goodbot, because I figured it was getting too spammy and all around pointless, if I can't enforce this 'rule'.

Are you sure about that decision? I mean whenever the bot posts its msg it informs people about the abuse. They can then do whatever they want to do with the knowledge. If the bot receives some power, it can actually take down some of the lesser abuse by itself.

I can't enforce a rule, that doesn't really exist.
It would be nice if people used #introduceyourself differently, but the users, who abuse it on purpose don't care about goodbot's message.

It stopped some honest people from using the tag and the ones who abuse, will keep doing it.

I couldn't convince @teamsteem to stop using it and I can't punish smaller users now.
That would be pathetic.

As you wish:P. I mean i kinda liked the idea to try to save at least portion of the reward pool to go to the abusers, but if you changed your mind, it can’t be helped:)

And here I am. Who never bothered to do a proper introduction post to verify who I am. For all you know, this ugly face persona is actually a front for a super hot single Russian girl looking for a boyfriend.

Hello @Felixxx,
I'm trying to create a few bots to help improve this community. Would you mind if I contact you on steemit chat or somewhere? I have a few doubts and want second opinion on certain things. I couldn't find anyone who can help clear my doubts. If you can manage a little time..
Thanks.

Sure ! DM me in steemit.chat :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56