You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Potential solutions to stop, restrict or disincentivize bots & alternatives for better bots - 🤖 BOTS! 🙀 Act 3

in #bots7 years ago

you do realize that steemit.com is basically a webapp that does pretty much everything it does via the open API? Just right-click in chrome and click "Inspect" for the Developer Tools window and you'll see all the SteemApi calls. If you try to block bots, you block steemit too.

Sort:  

Yes I do! This post is pretty much that exact statement.

Do not allow an API, simple as that. All access to the system must be through an official portal, such as Steemit.com

Maybe I'm missing something in your post, but that would make the above statement impossible to implement successfully. Any bot could easily talk through the API the same way steemit.com does. And even if you tried restructuring it in a different way, using keys, etc, I'd give it a day before the bot makers figure out how to get around it.

Very true, and I go on to show this. It is supposed to be an illustration of how this could not work as a solution.

Perhaps I did not make this very clear, sorry! I think I will add a clarifying line for this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61861.45
ETH 2995.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48