What kind of bot should GLaDOS be?

in #bot7 years ago (edited)

I love Portal and @GLaDOS is one of my favorite entities in the gaming universe. I want to capture its spirit. I'm replaying the games now with the sole goal of gaining an intimate feel for @GLaDOS.


source

My goal is to create something amusing and smile-inducing, but self-serving and snarky. Ultimately, for the benefit of the Steemit community. @GLaDOS will not be a trickster (I have to make that one concession).

This will be my first substantial programming endeavor. My programming history includes Liberty BASIC around the age of 14, an intro to C++ course my sophomore year in college, and dabbling in java and python in recent years. I need a project to challenge myself with.

I'd love to hear your ideas and suggestions.

I'll keep on trying 'til I run out of cake.

Sort:  

Excellent idea! There are a lot of bots nowadays on the platform, but I think you are on to something. A unique personality is definitely beneficial. It would be cool if you could program a bunch of quotes from the bot . . but his humor might be lost on the user if they aren't familiar with his humor. Following. I haven't messed with any type of programming for almost ten years. I did enjoy it though. I wish you and @GLaDOS well.
Not the cake

Not to sound snarky like our pal GLaDOS, but . . did the other guys read your post? You aren't new to Steemit. This a bot creation endeavor, but I digress xD

Those other guys are totally automated. I used the #introduceyourself tag only to introduce @GLaDOS. These guys should probably add a bit of code to limit their posts to one comment per username. But that would limit their immediate exposure and profit, wouldn't it?

Nah, I didn't mean the other bots. I'm cool with bots. I think they are great tools for users with lower amounts of sp. Right! You aren't new. I meant the other people who commented on your post LOL

That's something I'm definitely concerned about. At some point, probably from its conception now that you've mentioned it, it will be contained to gaming tags only.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cobloc from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Welcome to the community, Cobloc ! Wish you much luck! Cheers! Follow me !

A am trying to follow every account on steemit!! :) I don't know how long its gonna take.. But am not giving up! I personally think its a very cool and unique experiment. Am currently following 12300+- people but this needs to go way up! If you like this experiment please follow me back. Let me hear your thoughts about my project and have wonderful day :)

Hello @cobloc. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

Nice, a new Steemian, more or less ^^ Hi @Cobloc I hope you have fun at this place. don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) Cheers @chrisx

Hello Cobloc
welcome to Steemit ! If you like sportsbetting have a look at my blog bwin:)

She will be me.

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Hello and welcome! My name is @zeartul please check out @bellyrub for some sweet votes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44