How Would You Like To Travel In Your Own Private Train Car? The Dagny Taggart Comes to Boston

in #boston6 years ago

Who needs self-driving cars? Why not ride around in your own private train-car?

She was parked at South Station for much of last week.


Dagny1.jpg

At first, I thought it was just an older train car the MBTA was working on.

I mean, some of those commuter rail coaches are pretty darn old. And the city does keep antique subway cars on display here and there.

Dagny4.jpg
Dagny next to a regular commuter rail coach.

But after a few days of passing this marvelous, art-deco carriage, I noticed the name emblazoned on the side.

Dagny Taggart!

There was no way a car named after a capitalist icon belonged to a city in Massachusetts.

Dagny2.jpg

Dagny Taggart was the heroine of Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged, a strong-willed railroad magnate. Her name seems especially appropriate for a privately owned train car, both for it's association with the values of lassaiz-faire capitalism and the car's vintage.

Dagny3.jpg

(You can go ahead and debate the merits of Ayn Rand's Objectivist philosophy in the comments. My reputation score can only benefit from some lively and fractious conversation...)

Dagny5.jpg

I can't imagine what it costs to purchase, restore, and then maintain a carriage like this. And then you've got to pay the railroad companies something to tow you around - it's not like this thing has an engine!

Here's a video of the Dagny Taggart being towed, along with another private car, behind an Amtrack train. (Jump to 2:30 for the money shot.)

There are several other videos of the Dagny Taggart getting towed around, online.

Sitting on the tracks at South Station can't be cheap.

Like I said, I think this car was here for about a week - sitting on some pretty prominent real-estate.

Dagny6.jpg

Remarkably, people were living right on board!

With tens of thousands of commuters walking by every hour, this has to be the highest priced, least private way to stay in the city I can imagine.

No wonder they had Venetian blinds installed on several of the windows.

The train-car comes equipped with a kitchen - though not, apparently, a dish-washer.

Dagny7.jpg

There's also a luxurious lounge at the end. It's hard to make out the leather furniture through the reflections, but I felt like I was being intrusive enough taking pictures into someone's living room without pressing my lens directly against the glass. (But then again, if you park your house at a train station, aren't you kind of asking for attention? Also - remarkably - nobody else seemed to notice this unique car was sitting here. Or maybe I was just the only one brazen enough to ogle.)

Dagny0.jpg

The lounge was equipped with a large flat-screen TV.

Dagny8.jpg

Apparently there are four bedrooms and a rest-room on the car as well. I learned most of this from another youtube video, featuring an interview with the car's owner. (Jump to 7:00 to skip a North Dakota weather report.)

Walking past the car on Wednesday, I saw the man featured in the above video talking with someone on the platform. I should have overcome my shyness and interrupted his conversation with a few questions, but I was running late for my own train, and the platforms were mobbed with people catching a special run to Foxboro for the Patriots Football game. Maybe he'll find this story through Google and we can have a chat in the comments.

Dagny9.jpg
The Dagny Taggart on a quieter morning.

There is something exciting and romantic about this 1940s train car.

Although owning and maintaining it certainly wouldn't be my cup of tea. If I was going to maintain a self-contained vessel like this, it would have to be a sailboat. A boat can go anywhere on 70% of the planet, powered by the wind, and with a remarkable degree of privacy. A private train car is just about the opposite of all that, constrained to tracks and corporate schedules, and limited to very public yards and stations for parking.

But I certainly admire someone who is so into their passion that they'll live a piece of history like this.

Would you like to travel in a private train car? Would you own one?


AtopyCamera.png

DividerBorder.jpg


Unless otherwise stated, photography is the work of the author. Feel free to copy, remix and share photographs from this post according to the terms of a Creative Commons Attribution Sharealike 4.0 International license.

Camera divider and signature illustration by @atopy.

If you'd like to read more, you can check out a categorized catalog of my posts on Steemit here.

AtopySignature.png

Sort:  

I have looked into a private train car. It is not as expensive as I thought. I have never actually seen a private car before tho. If there was a train track from Alaska to the rest of the US but no. Anything to keep from having to fly :)

I love that vintage train car it is so beautiful. What a way to travel in style :)

I agree! anything to not fly. And it is beautiful.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 201 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Cool! I saw this but had no idea what it was. Yes, a boat would be more preferable.

I could totally get down with having a private train car. Especially one so beautiful! I think if I had the kind of money a person needs for that sort of thing, though, the scheduling wouldn't be an issue and I'd just buy some better curtains.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67477.32
ETH 3474.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69