Freedom of Speech in the USA is being oppressed, what's Steemit doing about it?

in #boston7 years ago (edited)

The top post on the trending page is sweetsssj talking about olives.

Erm... WHY?

Have none of you experienced olives before?

If olives were invented yesterday, and this young lady had just discovered them, I would understand a $400 reward.

Youtuber Mr. Dapperton has a great take on a young man's experience trying to engage with an angry mob, of anti free speech protestors.

They ask when he's ever been oppressed. Obviously referring to his ethnic and gender status of white male.

30 seconds later he's told to "Get the fuck out of here" and gets physically assaulted.

All he wanted was to exercise his first amendment rights, and have a conversation; but he was attacked, mainly because of his gender and race.

If a young black woman asked the same question, she wouldn't have been treated that way.

As the most powerful free speech social network on the internet, I am disappointed we are not taking a stand against this attack on freedom of expression.

TJ Kirk summed it up brilliantly in his tweet

Boston. 300 show up to demonstrate in favor of freedom of speech. 30,000 show up AGAINST freedom of speech. May this country rot in hell.

https://twitter.com/amazingatheist/status/899028392317669377

But hey, go back to discussing a fucking fruit.

Cheers,

@business

Sort:  

I was in Boston, on the commons for this event. Here are my personal thoughts about it:

I totally agree, and I would like to point out that free speech is more important for the 40 people saying what we don't agree with, than the 40000 saying what everyone agrees with.

After all, hundreds of thousands of North Koreans marched in unison, for their party, but if anyone dared counter protest, they'd be shot.

Free speech is about protecting all speech, not just the speech we agree with.

amazingatheist AltMazing AltTheist tweeted @ 19 Aug 2017 - 22:00 UTC

Boston. 300 show up to demonstrate in favor of freedom of speech. 30,000 show up AGAINST freedom of speech. May this country rot in hell.

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

I wrote this this in reply to your article, but it got too long.

Nice provocation.

The intention of your post is to intentionally mislead your audience. Those speakers in boston were mostly far right, and the demonstration was against racism, not against free speech.
https://www.google.se/amp/www.aljazeera.com/amp/news/2017/08/boston-crowd-anti-racists-dwarfs-free-speech-rally-170819180115802.html

That's presumptuous of you, and illustrates my point.

Im concerned that we are equivocating right wing politics, racism and free speech.

The video shows a young man there to stand up for free speech, who is then called a racist and assaulted.

You can deny that reality if you like, but people don't appreciate being lied to.

A violent mob can call itself an antiracism demonstration all it likes, but when you turn up to a free speech rally to protest, you are protesting free speech.

If you are truly concerned about racism, be a part of the debate.

Name calling and violence don't help your cause.

Well, the issue here is really what evidence there is to support that it was really just a free speech rally. I don't believe it was, I believe it was a white supremacist rally. This is what my sources tell me. You might have other sources. What sources do you have?

I personally know two of the organizers, one of whom dropped out to March with the protesters in order to open up some dialogue after receiving some hate. They went so far as to contact his employer and pressured them to terminate his employment. The other gentleman I know has been been a progressive activist for many years. I also know Anne Armstrong, and Allen both from the healing church. They came to advocate their right to use cannabis for their religious beliefs. You should probably question your sources a little bit better. This wasn't meant to be a guise for hate. That's a politically motivated, and media backed lie.

I will check my sources, and I hope you understand that I will not take your word for it?
So please provide sources. I'm not saying that you are wrong, I just don't believe you. For now, at least.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=0-6Yn78R7KI

Here we go, this conclusively proves you wrong. I dont suppose you'll watch it, admit your error, or apologise though.

I watched the video, it was interesting. It proves that I have been given a a biased version of the story, but the video you linked was also biased.
It showed one part of the story. Not conclusive in any way as to its perspective, bit I will admit, yes you are right, it was not a white supremacist rally. But white supremacists did attend, although several groups dropped off, like the proud boys.

https://www.boston.com/news/local-news/2017/08/15/what-we-know-about-the-free-speech-rally-planned-this-weekend-on-boston-common
Look at the list of speakers.
Please take note, I'm a pacifist, and I don't support the actions of antifa, although I sympathize with fighting nazis and white supremacists. The whole story is quite confusing, and it's hard to find good info.

Proud boys are not white supremacists, they're male chauvinists. They're a group reacting to the demonisation of masculinity in western society.

I really hope that you more critically examine the labels you attach to your fellow countrymen, Nazi and White Supremacist are labels that should not be thrown around lightly, lest they become meaningless.

Ok, Wikipedia and other sources confirm that they are not white supremacists, at least not as stated. They are however an alt-right group, extremely misogynistic, "patriotic" and they are described as islamophobic, by different sources. And they have white supremacists as members, like Jason Kessler for instance:https://www.splcenter.org/fighting-hate/extremist-files/individual/jason-kessler
And then there is the founderGavin McInnes, he is a fucked up misogynist, and a holocaust denier.
And their main purpose os to fight left-wing protesters.
Why?

Who is demonizing masculinity btw? Both masculinity and femininity are social constructions, and both have their flaws, but of course masculinity has been more oppressive, with it's fear of weakness, glorification of competition, and general sexism.
I'm a man, and I was raised in a sexist culture. I had to unlearn it all. The disrespect towards women, lack of belief in their abilities, objectification, disrespect of sexual borders.
All this I was taught. So yeah, masculinity sucks, that's not demonizing, just my honest opinion. This does not mean that I'm in any way ashamed to be a man. I'm not a slave to my culture.
And also, I'm not from the U.S like the proud sexist, violent islamophobic boys, or like Noam Chomsky, one of the world's greatest intellectuals. So the U.S has both it's good and bad sides, admittedly.

Nice strawman of the 30000 being against free speech... ;) Disagreeing with celebrating slavery, racism and so on is not really being against free speech, you realize that right?

I get the feeling you didn't even watch that video

I really hope you're right, but I'm not so sure.

Yep, I did not watch the video, I though it was an illustration and did not notice the little gray play button on the overlay until your comment just now when I went back to look for a video.

For anyone interested, here is a podcast of Shadow Citizen interviewing Garrett Kirkland, and Dr. Shiva whom we're involved in the Free Speech Rally in Boston. It's an interesting show:.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67232.91
ETH 3240.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64