Disaster Vulturism or Utopia Awaiting?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #boriken7 years ago

As a Boríkwa Taíno person, I have a deep love for the islands of my ancestors. Additionally, the impact of the hurricanes this last year continue to be felt. Many people have died, are sick and in desperate need, and have fled from the island.

This has created an opportunity for 'disaster capitalists' aka 'vultures' to buy up land and resources for exceptionally cheap. This has been done before with great success by American powers and America-based interests.

The article below talks of recently-made wealthy folk flocking to Boríken/Puerto Rico on a mission that they describe as being distinctly NOT about following in the footsteps of their peers, which is to say, wealthy individuals taking advantage of the conditions of the destitute and poor. Read it at your leisure.

I own cryptocurrency, as do most of you here on Steemit. I am Taíno. I do not confuse ownership or stake in a product as being equal to an inherent property of my makeup. What I would like to ask you all is your take on this.

How do you interpret this? Is it a genuine opportunity for the rebirth of Boríken? Will that rebirth include ALL the people, or only those with money? I welcome your responses, because that's the way we'll arrive at a consensus.

https://www.nytimes.com/2018/02/02/technology/cryptocurrency-puerto-rico.html

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63177.41
ETH 2439.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58