Border Debate

in #borders7 years ago

Here's my two cents on the Larken vs. Chase Rachels debate, which I'm going to attempt to link here.

Here's just a couple of thoughts that I've had about the whole issue of whether or not individuals in the US can justifiably initiate aggression to evict another individual who does not have permission from politicians to be on this side of an arbitrary line or border. My contention is that in practical terms this hypothetical situation would never occur in the real world. These are just a couple of notions that I've thought about but I have not read or heard anyone point out that are practical realities in all of this.

  1. So first I just want to, in clear language, clarify that I assume that in this debate we are focusing on Latino immigrants. I say this because I do not know any undocumented Canadian or Arab or Asian individuals personally. I do, however, know many undocumented Hispanic individuals who are good and decent people and, although they do not need it, they have my complete permission and best wishes in living inside the same arbitrary lines as myself. I am glad to call them my neighbors, but at least some of my fellow gringos feel the opposite it seems. Regardless, I just wanted to make clear that it doesn't seem to me that in this debate we are talking about protection from "terrorists" as I do not know of any that are immigrating. So basically, we're talking about Latinos.

  2. I do not know of anyone who has come here "legally" or "illegally" who did not already have a place to reside lined up ahead of time. I know of no one who's plan was to come here and sleep on a park bench somewhere or pitch a tent on private or "public" property. So in other words I know of no one who has "trespassed" as Chase has described. This is because traveling on "public" roads, streets, highways, interstates & sidewalks is not trespassing. To suggest that it is is just simply ridiculous. Individuals who come here either already know where they are going to reside or have a standing invitation with friends or family, so they simply travel on the highways and byways just like everyone else to reach their destination. There. Is. No. Trespassing.

  3. Now, just to practically put into practice the idea of privatizing all roads, highways & sidewalks. Let's say all of these were privatized tomorrow. Would you stay home from work and patrol your neighborhood street or sidewalk in order to validate passersby? No, you would not. Neither would anyone else. Not even the statists would. Does anyone give a shit who drives down their street or walks on the sidewalk that passes in front of their home? No, they do not. You would think all libertarians would understand that the identity of those who are traveling the roads or sidewalks is none of their fucking business, just like where they are going it's none of their fucking business. In practice, even the statists would get it if it were all privatized tomorrow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56855.37
ETH 2976.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39