READY PLAYER ONE: 80's Pop Culture Inventory

in #books7 years ago

1.jpg

While reading Ernest Cline's novel, I decided to make a master list of 80's references to embark on my own little Gunter Quest towards quality music and films. So fellow Gunter and/or 80's fans...without further ado..I present a "Ready Player One" 80's reference inventory!

ready-player-one-screenwriter-zak-penn-says-its-to_shcv.1920.jpg

Please click HERE for some nifty background music while you read! (It's a Ready Player One music playlist..)!

Rush-2112-Starman-Emblem.jpg

Feel free to add things I missed or, more importantly, comment a list of your own favorite 80's novelty.

Music

dxRupLcPfgBx.gif

Oingo Boingo

They Might Be Giants

R.E.M

The Police

Midnight Oil

Wild Boys (Duran Duran)

"Union of the Snake" (Duran Duran)

(Billy idol)

"Time After Time" (Cyndi Lauper)

"James Brown is Dead" (L.A. Style)

"Atomic" (Blondie)

"Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go" (Wham!)

"A Million Miles Away" (Plimsoles)

"In Your Eyes" (Peter Gabriel)

"2112" (Rush)

"Subdivisions" (Rush)

"3 is the Magic Number" (School House Rock)

"Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap" (ACDC)

Screen-Shot-2014-11-26-at-14.17.30-e1417011526324-640x469.png

Movies/TV

Ladyhawke (1985)
Legend (1985)
Highlander (1986)
Space giants (1977)
Cheers (1982)
The Addams family
Star Wars (1977)
Evil Dead Trilogy (1981)
Fight club (1999)
Whiz kids (1983)
War games (1983)
Buckaroo Banzai (1984)
Bladerunner (1982)
Excalibur (1981)
Explorers (1985)
Big Trouble in Little China (1986)
Short Circuit (1986)
Monty Python and the Holy Grail (1975)

1181242123210.jpg

Games

Okay, so I'm a lame-o and not much of a gamer even though most of this book targeted the gamer community. However, I'm a closet nerd for arcade games so I did enjoy some Joust in honor of Anorack's Quest. Unfortunately it didn't even cross my mind to keep a record of the games referenced in the book. But I know for a fact Pac-Man, Tempest, and Black Tiger were all mentioned. Oh and DnD of course! Please comment below of some of your favorite 80's games or ones that were in the book!

giphy.gif

In case you couldn't tell, this book was just amazing! Please comment below any thoughts you have!

Sort:  

I love Ready Player One - after seeing the trailer for the movie I'm concerned that they are going to ruin everything that is great about the book. As for the 80's

I'll never forget hungry town by Big Pig, Summer Games on my Amiga 500 and the movie Can't buy me Love. None of which appear in the book

I loved it too! I'm so nervous for the movie I can't even bring myself to watch the trailer. The book has the potential to start an 80's revival for us millenials, but the movie is gonna have to be really on point. We will have to see...

Add those songs to the playlist I made if you want! I'll try to give them a listen. Thanks for commenting!

Movies:
Escape from new york
Brazil
Willow

Games:
A bards tale
Popeye
Q-bert
DigDug

I've been dying to watch Brazil for the longest time!!! I just haven't gotten around to it. @boywndr52 is my personal 80's resource center and he has also recommended it to me.

Any favorite songs??

Too many to go into... That's why i didn't. :P
Ya Brazil is a must watch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01