Only a few days until I publish my physics book!

in #books6 years ago

abstract-abstract-art-abstract-background-1629236.jpg

All the way back in 2015 I started writing a non-fiction physics book, which I think I've always assumed I would never finish. It started with my conviction that space is something rather than nothing, it is an energetic field of some sort and not a "void" or "vacuum" in the traditional sense that we associate with these words. I started going to the library constantly and researching earlier thinkers' contributions to this debate. I was surprised by how long this debate has existed, and how many different philosophers and scientists have contributed to it. I started compiling my research into a single document, which gradually became a book of history in and of itself. Eventually, I had sixty pages detailing two thousand years of the void vs. plenum debate, but it wasn't long enough or compelling enough to warrant publication, so I left it to languish on my computer for a year until I caught the inspiration to write down my dissenting opinion on Einstein's theory of relativity. Right around the time that I finished that lengthy essay, there was a lot of hooplah in the news about the supposed "God Particle," the Higgs boson, and it was all so overblown and ridiculous that I felt I needed to write something about that too. Next thing I knew I had three large chunks of writing each expressing different aspects of my philosophic and scientific worldview, but I had no idea how to tie them together and turn them into a coherent book that someone might find interesting to read. A long-running fantasy of mine held that I would somehow stumble on some hitherto unheard-of equation that would solve all the mysteries of the universe and win me a nobel prize. Needless to say, that was a naive fantasy, and it felt all the more ridiculous when the real solution to my book came to me at a random moment: you'll never find an "equation for the universe" or a "theory of everything," not just because you're ill-equipped but because the universe is inherently incomprehensible. I knew this was the proper solution because of how simple, obvious, and, frankly, disappointing it seemed after it occurred to me. It wasn't exciting, but it was true, and it was the sole theme that tied together my history of the vacuum debate with my criticisms of Relativity and The Standard Model. Over the last two years, I have been slowly chipping away at finishing the book, adding things here and there to bolster the argument and tie together what began as an incoherent mess. I can't say that I've achieved perfect continuity with the text, but I've reached a plateau where I feel that continuing to sit on it will not lead to any major changes or improvements. So, it is finally time for me to wrap things up and get this book out there. I will be publishing it on Amazon.com within the week, and I sincerely hope that some of you will get a chance to read it and give me some feedback. The title is "Physics is Futile," and I will update you again when it's published!

Sort:  

Whoa! that's fucking awesome! "Futile" is rather a strong word, obviously physics has a point, increases factual knowledge, and produces some things of merit and great demerit like solar panels and atom bombs. Physics is most definitely limited, though that's not a very catchy title! I would argue that physics isn't even searching for "a theory of everything" even though it thinks it is, but is instead searching for a theory that explains the arising of observable phenomena from the perspective of objective physical mechanisms. There is also the arising of phenomena from the perspective of subjective mechanisms which physics hardly touches, and i suspect that the twain can meet. Nevertheless, i know of no instance where the arising of genuinely factual knowledge didn't show in stark relief the greater field of unknowns yet to be understood. Perhaps the mechanics of the universe from both a subjective and an objective perspective grow and change as sentient understanding increases. Rupert Sheldrake makes a good case for the "fact" that the physical constants themselves change


but if we come to know that then that is part of the mechanics of the universe. Anyhow, fucking cool project man. One other to tickle your fancy perhaps:

I agree that "futile" is a rather strong word, and I certainly don't mean to say that physics hasn't made valuable contributions to society or that it won't again in the future. I'm more just arguing against theories of everything, which would be the ultimate aspiration of physics in general. I'm also railing against the dogmatic and self-congratulatory nature of the modern physics community/paradigm. I definitely see how the title could come off offensive or arrogant, but I like that it will cause a reaction and get the attention of most people who happen to come across it. Also, I really liked that Ted talk you posted, and some of what he referenced I may actually add to a certain part of my book. Haven't gotten around to watching the second video yet but I'll check it out soon. Thanks!

Ah, yeah. I get what you mean about the dogma's. Something i find myself trying to point out in peoples thinking as well, mainly because it's related to my own life's work to discover unchecked dogma's within my own thoughts. I'm not offended by your use of the word "futile" in the title of your book, though ironically it's a bit dogmatic! But you are correct, provocative statements sell. Maybe need a subtitle like "Physics is Futile: Why Theories of Everything Are Doomed to Fail". Ha, of course now i stick my nose where it doesn't belong, and give advice where it isn't asked for! It's a flaw. Though not sure it's one i will ever completely abandon! Anyhow, turns out i should have included the whole talk by Rupert Sheldrake which is entitled, "The Ten Dogmas of Science" or "The Science Delusion". So here it is, in case you didn't run across it yourself:

Love to chat with you about your ideas sometime... Might have to buy your book... There's another physicist, Nassim Haramein, who i wonder if you've heard of? He has a theory of quantum gravity, a contender for a TOE, called the Holofractographic Universe i believe, in part based on the idea that the density of energy in the "vacuum" is actually infinite...

On an unrelated note, do you know what in the hell the point is in steemit limiting the number of comments i can make on posts in a given period of time? Frustrating... Been waiting for the thing to recharge so i could respond to you. I'm only a little tadpole, and you're barely a frog yourself; you still got a vestigial tail!

Most warmly,
The Million Things

Hello @youdontsay, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62924.41
ETH 2436.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52