You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Book] #22. The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett - Story about People behind the Cathedrals

in #books6 years ago

I read this book because I heard (don't know if it's true) that the events were based on the building of Exeter Cathedral. I was studying in Exeter at the time, so it seemed like a topic close to my heart. But you could say that I came for the cathedral, but stayed for the story. I really found it gripping, never mind that it was so long. Another friend of mine read it not long after and found the same thing, despite the fact that English isn't her first language. :)

Were you already a Ken Follett fan? And if not, what made you choose the book?

Sort:  

A friend of mine recommended the book.
I was hesitant at first. It seemed too long, print was too small (it was a paperback), I hadn't opened the book for whole two months. But once I started reading, I couldn't put it down. :)

Same here. It's certainly a whopper but definitely worth trying! I liked the extra part at the end with the assassination too. Makes you think :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76