Sunday Pickings

in #books6 years ago

Admirer as I think I am
Of stars that do not give a damn,
I cannot, now I see them, say
I missed one terribly all day.

THE MORE LOVING ONE - by W.H. Auden

I trust I can safely post this without being accused of growing rich over the back of someone else: after all I only mean for you all to go in droves over to the site of this lady:

(Is that Moby Dick around her neck?) This is Maria Popova from BrainPickings, my favorite blog. Check out today’s posting for a reading (by Janna Levin) of the poem from which the above lines have been taken.

Must get her (first) book! Which collects her favorite themes in superbly written monographs. She is an academic, a scientist but also a spiritual catalyst if you ask me, with a heart that simply gravitates to the beautiful and wise side of life. I am not sure the above photo does her justice: I once watched her present a poetry event and she was the least pretentious person you could meet, considering her amazing talent, broad range and eclectic tastes.

She is all woman - but includes men all the time, yet without compromising on what truly births man and noursishes him and teaches him to walk on his own two feet, upright and brave; without raping Gaia and molesting the elfs or growing up into pedants and glowering shamans (VIPs) with carboncle eyes mesmerising the fainthearted beneath gold-plated laurels encrusted with diamonds; sceptres in hand, swirling the air into typhoons to whisk you off your seats and up, up, up into the churning air, under the millstone of their grinding minds.

Nah, she doesn't need a crown. Just buy her book.

photo woman with crown: Jared Subia on Unsplash

Sort:  

Ah, thank you! I used to read BrainPickings all the time and then it got out of my routine - probably because I have been trying over the years to get rid of automated/spam/weekly/daily e-mails - which seems to be impossible.

Maybe we should get her onboarded on Steem :-)

Congratulations @sukhasanasister! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you for the introduction of Maria. I will check out the brainpickings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54