Bibliophilia - One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest by Ken Kesey

in #books6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Bibliophilia - One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest by Ken Kesey


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

I was still quite young when I saw the film, so don't remember much of it and certainly wouldn't have understood the message. Maybe one day I'll find time to read the book, but in my current frame of mind, I'm not sure I should.

The character, McMurphy, sounds like someone who'd be described as having "a problem with authority." I find it funny that this is used to denote a bad characteristic, but it's just another way of saying they are a "free spirit," which is usually used as a compliment.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, it all depends on where you're looking at it from, and what your values are. It's no surprise that free spirits have a problem with authority, and likewise authorities do not favor free spirits. What's your current frame of mind like, that you think you should not read Cuckoo's Nest? Are you considering breaking free from some restraints?

Just struggling a bit with dealing with the restraints that seem to be piling on everywhere at the moment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81