You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Logistics.....what a waste of fuel and everything!!

in #books5 years ago

Priceless so long as they develop the accent and infamously dry British humour..

But, seriously it's quite ridiculous, anyway to subvert the whole maritime law and be more efficient and green simultaneously seems like a win win for everyone except the lords of shipping and receiving aka governments.

Reading is FUNDaMental

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

LOL I have constant battles with my kids over accents!! In schools, I'd suggest the majority of the ESL teachers are from the US but most of the textbooks seem to be in English, in the higher end schools especially. The Thai schools use terrible, home produced English textbooks with which I spend many an hour correcting the answers and ringing up teachers to complain when my kids homework gets marked as incorrect when in fact it was either perfectly correct or the question was too ambiguous to answer properly.
As for the accents, and call me biased if you will, I teach phonics using a Yorkshire regional accent to the toddlers as we define the vowel sounds much better than either the standard English or US pronunciations. I love phonics, but have found kids get mixed up with a,e and u, especially when reversing the phonics to spell words from the sound alone. Dictating a few words to kids to write down is a great test of whether they are hearing the sounds correctly in their head and is much more difficult than reading phonically.
The problem with Thailand is kids are simply taught English to pass tests, not to communicate so the level is terrible. Add to the fact that Thai schools (except the few big international ones) only employ young attractive westerners for effect as opposed to actually teaching, the standards are very poor in a wide middle range of educational establishments. Funnily enough, the cheaper and free government schools who employ cheap labour from the Philippines are the best.
Filipinos have a beautiful, quite neutral accents. Americanish but with a little Brit in there and speak so clearly, as well as being much better educated.
I'd employ a Filipino ESL teacher (generalisation alert!) over one of the dim begpackers who are just out to make a quick quid any day of the week!

Yorkshire phonics, I'm going to have to look into it.

I'd imagine the Thai kids are taught English in the same manner I was taught Spanish in the states. We didn't have hot El Salvadorian teachers though, so I feel like I got the shaft there.

And I totally agree on the Filipino generalisations.. Begpackers are the worst especially the degree holding ones that are lured into the Thai schooling system.

Here in the Klang valley of Malaysia the English language is often the households first language. This is especially true with the Chinese and Indians, the Malays are generally speaking less fluent but just about everyone understands my travelers English. I've shed that now though and find myself code talking more often and losing the ability to speak American dialects.

Sometimes I surprise myself when things like "see first" or "kennot like theese one" come out of my mouth..😎

Right o I'm off to work on me Yorkshire Dick Van Dyke 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57430.35
ETH 2423.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32