Why My Tongue Gets Numb Every Night Courtesy of Dr. Seuss

in #books7 years ago

Every night before bed, I have the worst and best part of my quality time with my son.

We always have our reading sessions. My aunt from New Jersey sent us a bunch of Dr. Seuss' books and I couldn't be happier that my son developed an interest in books aside from his Lego bricks. I guess everybody loves Dr. Seuss books since we were little but lately I realized, reading some of these books do require a lot of work.

The most popular book from the Dr. Seuss series is The Cat in the Hat but a particular book that I dread but could not refuse to read to my son at night is:

Dr. Seuss' Fox in Socks

Now this is looks like an innocent and simple children's book but be warned, this is not for the tired momma! It gets even worse if your child wants you to repeat reading it again. Groaannnnn!!!

Of course it comes with a warning.


Always follow the book's advice or else you'll get burned! Lol!

But who cares in your child's eye right? As long as he enjoys it then you have no choice but to do so. Better to read him an educational book than leave him watching Youtube cartoons or playing games on the phone.

The book can be gentle at first, but the few pages after gets to be brutal.

When you reach the second half of the book, words seems to jumble and my vision is blurry.

This seemingly innocent book is really dangerous. Nevertheless, I can't help but appreciate the sparkle in my son's eyes and his smiles whenever I utter words that rhyme which seem melodious to his ears.

It has the best and worst of tongue-twisters. From the title alone, Fox in Socks provides one heck of a tongue exercise far more exhausting than a marathon or triathlon.

For what it's worth, I appreciate the each moment of learning with my son. I also appreciate words even more. Although tongue-twisters aren't used in everyday conversation, it is also a mode of facial and mouth exercise. They also improves diction and articulation of words, a way to help one speak in a clear manner.

According to website https://englishsherpa.com/ on tongue twisters:

It’s been found that the brain coordinates its articulation of words according to which muscles it needs to move, so sounds that use the same or similar muscles (as we see in tongue twisters) can confuse the brain.

This book helps my son who is quite delayed in speech and I noticed that he is slowly improving as well. Aside from fun to do, tongue-twisters are highly educational and promotes learning and imagination.

I am happy to say I am learning with my son too.

I would highly recommend this book but a piece of advice:

PROCEED AND REPEAT WITH CAUTION.

Follow me @shellany


source:
https://englishsherpa.com/tongue-twisters/

Sort:  

Oh, do I remember Dr. Susses' Fox in Socks! My sons loved it! We read it through so many times that I could recite it from memory! Reading together is the best for learning. Read every day, even twice when you can. It forms strong bonds and encourages kids to become better readers.

True, no matter how tired I am, this book has great benefits! Thanks for reading!

Haha! 😀 This is cute and amusing at the same time.

Thank you glad you enjoyed my post! 😊

Nice bonding, cute mom-baby tandem. :)

Thanks sis! :)

nice bonding with your son steemit friends

Thanks

Thank you fellow steemian! ☺

#funny
I can not help but laugh when I see something strange, what about you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66620.20
ETH 3494.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72