What are your top 5 books?

in #books7 years ago

good afternoon.jpg

books.png
In this day and age of Google and Wikipedia, we have knowledge at our fingertips 24/7. I sometimes feel like a real, hardcover, paper book just feeds me better than a digital read. I thought I would put together a list of my favorite books. I can live without a TV and even a phone but I cannot live without books. These are my top 5. I own them, I read them daily...what are your top 5 books that you cannot live without?

  1. Western Garden Book by Sunset - this was my "go-to" textbook in college. I still read something from it each day. You can never know too much about gardening!20170529_124756[1].jpg
  2. Shelters, Shacks and Shanties - The Classic Guide to Building Wilderness Shelters by DC Beard - indispensable book on hand built shelters, doors, latches, fireplaces, chimneys ...you name it...Mr. Beard (a founder of Boy Scouts) has it in here!20170529_124801[1].jpg
  3. DMT The Spirit Molecule by Rick Strassman, M.D. - This is one of my favorite reference books on the effects of DMT within the body. Dr. Strassman does a thorough job in explaining why he did these experiments and how relevant they are to the research of near death and mystical experiences.20170529_124811[1].jpg
  4. Field Guide To The Birds of North America by Michael Vanner - I love birds and I love studying their behavior and habitat. This book comes in really handy when I just want to know quick facts.20170529_124748[1].jpg
  5. Moosewood Restaurant Low-Fat Favorites by The Moosewood Collective - This is more than just a vegetarian/vegan cookbook! It has an amazing glossary! Any food or technique can be found in this book. Great food and great information.20170529_124818[1].jpg

I hope you enjoyed checking out these 5 books. Let me know what your top 5 are in the comments. I love to read and I love it when a good book is referred to me! Have a wonderful day...Namaste
follow me.jpg
shannon.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @s-dbraybrook! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Thank you Steemit!

I'll add 'The Alchemist' by Coelho. Loved that book.
Also Conversations with God, The power of Now and Stealing fire from the Gods. Every one of those books changed me.
J.

I am going to check out The Alchemist! Thank you for sharing.

Cool, if you're into spirituality, the alchemist is so good it hurts.
Snippets of wisdom are worked into a beautiful story; when it's finished, you are satisfied and still want more.
That's how a good book makes me feel, like I've eaten a restaurant meal, say a lovely Chicken Marsala (from Carabbas) and followed it with some wine. Full, but man, would I love a second helping.
Lol.
Now I'm hungry.

I am into so many types of genres...one minute I am learning how to play better poker, the next I am checking out quantum physics...so much to learn and so many books. Speaking of Marsala...just bought some fresh organic spices to make a nice batch of Chicken and rice. Now, I am hungry!

I haven't got any favourites but loving reading spiritual books and books about angels :)

What type of spiritual book did you read recently?

I was reading Theresa caputos book, she amazes me

I will take at look! Thanks Karen.

She is on TV too she is fabulous to watch, see if theres clips on you tube :)

She's the medium! Cool. I just ordered a new book by Jessamyn Stanley. She is an incredible yoga instructor and I cannot wait to try some moves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82