Steemit Book Giveaway Contest – Week #1, featuring Bukowski, Vonnegut, Kerouac and more!

in #books6 years ago

Welcome to Week 1 of The Sleuth's Steemit Book Giveaway Contest!

static1.squarespace.com.jpg

Hello everyone! I just reached my one year anniversary on Steemit! I've learned so much during my time here and have had such a great time that I figured it would be fun to have a little literary-inspired contest. My home is overflowing with books, so what better type of contest than a book giveaway?!? I'm thinking this will be a weekly thing, and will possibly feature some guest judges, so if you're interested in being a judge, drop me a line. Anyway, here's the deal:

1) Each week I'll post a selection of books from my library.

2) Whoever can make the most convincing case in the comments as to why they'd like a particular book will get that book shipped to them for free!

3) I'll respond to the winner in three days.


So here we go! This is Week One's selection:

IMG_3030.JPG IMG_3032.JPG

IMG_3040.JPG IMG_3034.JPG

IMG_3036.JPG IMG_3038.JPG

Good luck everyone! I'm looking forward to hearing your responses!

RGS no border.JPG

Sort:  

'The taste of rain, why kneel?' Is a poem by Jack Kerouac, which comes back to me every now and then reminding me to breathe and be in the moment. It's such a vivid poem and I wouldn't mind learning more about his writing/poetry.

Kerouac is great! Most people only know him from On the Road, but I highly recommend reading Dharma Bums. A much better work in my opinion.

I will keep an eye out. Thank you for the recommendation.

This is an awesome idea.
Imma wait to "compete" until I see a book that I'm super hoping to add to the collection.
Fun stuff.

Great! Looking forward to hearing from you! What kind of stuff do you like to read?

I'll admit that I don't read nearly as fast as I consume film, heh, but I do love some Bolaño, Bradbury, Arthur C. Clarke (who I know more through film), Borges, Raymond Chandler, Gabriel G Marquez, and The Hardy Boys series from youth. Cheers to all of them.

I would have to go for the Kurt Vonnegut, I have read quite a few of his books. First one was "Breakfast of Champions" a really long time ago. I haven't read The Sirens of Titan.

Thanks for your entry! I had to go with @literaturkritik on this one, as he has never read Bukowski (!!!). Vonnegut's great though, and I loved Breakfast of Champions.

What a wonderfull idea. I haven‘t read anything from Bukowski yet, and this „blind spot“ might qualify to participate in this nice contest ;-)
Kind regards, Literaturkritik

Hey @literaturkritik! You're blind spot qualifies you as the winner of this round! You definitely need to read some Bukowksi and I'd love to be able to support that. Shoot me an email at [email protected] with your address and I'll get it shipped out to you!

Hey @rarebooksleuth ! Thank you for this beautiful gift. I will drop you an Email soon. I am very excited to read the book soon. Have a nice day. Literaturkritik

I will be excited to have Rainer Maria's selected poems.

I have his 'Letters to a young poet' and I was really an eye opener to budding poets like myself. Seeing the works of this great man would really be a fascinating experience for me.

If you see me worthy of possessing this book, do not hold it back.

Thanks for your entry! Rilke's a true master

Since I work at a bookstore, I'm not going to enter, but I will resteem this so hopefully more people get the chance to enter. Those are some nice pieces there, esp. the Bukowski! Best of luck to all contestants--literacy may be the best prize of all. :)

Haha thanks! I didn't know you were a bookseller. Cheers to that!

Eighteen years and counting. In fact, I just posted a story about a rather awful-at-the-time yet hilarious-in-hindsight incident involving the bathrooms at the store...

https://steemit.com/@modernzorker/comedy-open-mic-round-25-the-fist-of-god

It has nothing to do with books, thank goodness, unless the mystery individual involved was eating them...and actually, that might go a LONG way towards explaining what happened, now that I think about it...

You have really good collection there. I do love books but mostly children mysteries book with investigation and stuff like enid blyton series. Thanks for your kind offer though. It really is interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63047.55
ETH 2690.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54