Rare Book of the Day – The Journal of UFO Studies, Edited by J. Allen Hynek. Volume 1, Number 1.

in #books6 years ago

This one is interesting. Published in 1979, I believe it was the only volume issued, and contains articles UFO sightings, abductions, the use of hypnosis in memory recall, and more. I've attached the table of contents below for a sampling. The editorial advisor was J. Allen Hynek, who was an American astronomer, professor and ufologist. He actually started out as a UFO skeptic, working as a scientific consultant for Project Blue Book, the United States Air Force official study of the UFO phenomenon from 1948 to 1969. He gradually became convinced that a number of these cases were legit, and possibly represented visitation from extraterrestrials. After Project Blue Book was shut down in 1969, Hynek started the Center for UFO Studies (CUFOS) to continue to collect and study UFO reports. Membership was restricted to scientists and professionals and continues to this day. Interesting stuff, folks.

s-l1600.jpg

Table of Contents:

2.jpg

Hynek:

Allen-Hynek1.png

More info here:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/191915170506

Sort:  

Wow. Awesome. Love Hynek.

Hynek.jpg

Perhaps you've heard of this rare book? The Devil and George Burroughs: A Study in Seventeeth Century Justice by Gilbert Upton. Apparently there's a problem with the ISBN because when I've bought it I've received Butler's An Illustrated History of the Gestapo (which I own 3 copies of now). I even bought a copy from England - that was the third copy, a different publisher even, no dice. I've given up : D

I haven't. Doing a cursory search it looks like that one's a hard one to track down! I'll keep my eyes open for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60379.35
ETH 2434.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47