You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bedside Books: Sharing Knowledge Through Fun Contests

in #books6 years ago

I read a ton of history related books. My favourite to date is How Do You Kill 11 Million People - Why the Truth Matters More Than You Think by Andy Andrews. It's super short and answers the question "How do terrible leaders gain so much support while doing reprehensibly horrific things. It's a tale from the past and a warning for the future.

Sort:  

Heyho @powellx5, thanks a bunch for taking the time!

I don't know that book but I should check it. What worries me is how history repeats itself, specially here in Brazil.

How do terrible leaders gain so much support while doing reprehensibly horrific things

That is the question you know! How can people here ask for military intervention to solve the political crises, when it's well known what happened the last time the military took down democracy.
How can people so blindly get in the same trap?
I know the mitilary will not intervene this time, but the fact that people ask for it makes me realise that they do not study, hence this country will not change for better.

I guess that's what terrible leaders explore: Ignorance.

Sorry for throwing words in the air on my comment, but the subject you've arised is really interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57382.38
ETH 3075.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39