Reliving the Past: My Favorite Children's Books

in #books6 years ago (edited)

One of the amazing aspects of becoming a parent is the ability to relive and share the things you loved best about childhood. For me on of the things I am excited to pass along to my son is my love of books. Here are five of my favorite children's books that I am enjoying reading through the lense of adulthood and sharing with my kid.

1.Where The Wild Things Are written and illustrated by Maurice Sendak
A timeless tale of mischief and love, Where The Wild Things Are never gets old for me. As a child I was completely captivated by Max’s wolf-suited adventure, his bravery, and his imagination. I still find myself captivated, and can’t imagine a world in which this doesn’t always live on a bookshelf in my house.

2.Alice Nizzy Nazzy:The Witch of Santa Fe by Tony Johnston, illustrated by Tomie dePaola
This was the book that sparked my deep love for the mythology and culture of the American Southwest, and I am only hoping it invokes the same reverence in my son. The book also offers a healthy dose of stranger danger and lessons about responsibility.

3.Chrysanthemum written and illustrated by Kevin Henkes
Being one of those people given an unusual name at birth, I related deeply to this story as a child. Now I love this book for the lessons it teaches about being happy with what you have and being kind to others.

4.The Very Hungry Caterpillar written and illustrated by Eric Carle
I have alway considered this book visually stunning, and believed it was the gateway into my deep love of art. The story and illustrations are no less charming in my adulthood and we love this book not only for its beauty, but also for its easy lessons on counting and the days of the week.

5.How Do Dinosaurs… series by Jane Yolen, illustrated by Mark Teague
This one is new for me, as I don’t think the books existed when I was a child, but I am certainly enjoying them now. The books delightfully instruct children in good behavior for a variety of activities, such as cleaning their room, birthday party etiquette, and taking care of their pets, all while transplanting various highly coloured dinosaurs into the roles of little boys and girls.

Sort:  

You can't forget the giving tree by Shel Silverstein. So many of lifes lessons packed into one incredible children's book.

I loved Where the Wild Things Are and still remember when my mother first introduced me to it! Nice picks from my childhood.

It is very important to read stories to children, they enjoy if you also enjoy it, develop many skills, even learn to pay attention when they speak and take them to the world of fantasy, I love stories and I like to read and relate them.

Ah yes, a trip down memory lane.

All great books!

Reading to children is so important. I don't have any myself, but I sometimes read aloud to my rescue dog. He seems to enjoy it, but who knows what he's really thinking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22