RIP Philip Kerr - author of the incredible 'Bernie Gunther' detective series

in #books7 years ago

Yesterday I came across the sad news that author Philip Kerr (62) has passed away on Friday 23rd of March, 2018.

I can't say I am a fan of many writers. Only a few will make me read more than one book in a series. Some years ago when I was living in Berlin, Germany, I was pointed in the direction of Philip Kerr. A Scottish author that writes about a German police detective in Nazi Germany--I must admit a lot of alarm bells went off when I thought about that connection. But Kerr managed to surprise me, and after reading the trilogy containing the first three books in the 'Bernie Gunther' series he had a new loyal fan.

There are 12 books in the Bernie Gunther series. All with the same main character: the detective that makes fun of Nazis but manages to stay alive, bitter and full of sarcasm about how he his job is about having to find a murderer amidst a whole army of mass murderers. He never excuses himself for what he does, nor does he make the whole situation an easy black-and-white good-guy versus bad-guy. The humor surrounding Bernie helps. But the incredible writing and the sheer amount of research that must have gone into each book actually make it such a great series. Much more than simply a 'detective', it is philosophical, historical, funny. An incredibly strong combination that I haven't found in any other detective series, and trust me, I've looked.

twitter philip kerr Rankin.JPG

But Philip Kerr also wrote other books. Non-fiction, children books. And novels unrelated to the Bernie Gunther series. Some also detective based, like 'Philosophical Investigations' which I would truly recommend to people as it is such a original and almost satirical take on the 'detective' as a genre. And also the book 'Research' I would definitely recommend, it proposes a new way of looking at writing best-sellers and this book truly changed the way I have thought about everything the Kerr has written.

He was a mater story teller, making you reconsider what you thought was normal.
And most of all, he makes me walk through Berlin the way I experienced Berlin, his descriptions are very accurate and they show a deep love and obsession with that city and its history, that I share.

I am very sad I will not have another Kerr to read, and this makes it even more bitter to have just finished the latest Bernie Gunther novel some weeks ago.

Sources used:
Article in the Guardian "Philip Kerr, author of Bernie Gunther novels, dies aged 62", March 24, 2018 (link here).

@nobyeni.png

Here an overview of more fiction/short stories and poetry by @nobyeni.

Sort:  

RIP phillip kerr. really it is so sad know about his death. deepest condolences to his family. I didn't Read his writings much but as you mentioned they are detective stories . I will start reading them for sure.

This post was upvoted by the Steemit Book Project! The project exists to help make books more available to the world and to promote book-related content on Steemit.

You can read more about the project here. If you write book related posts, head over to our Discord server (https://discord.gg/h93nHMu) and pop your book post links in the #curation-requests channel.

Hope you have a wonderful and bookfull day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67312.14
ETH 2623.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69