Sort:  

I've been meaning to finish reading Anna Karenina for years. I like Russian literature and Realism. I don't see that on the clasics list but there are so many good ones.

It is great to start off the book club with a novel so high in symbolism. That is the most powerful part of our consciousness...in our DNA...and so mysteriously universal.

Actually, the Modern Library list of "100 Best Novels" contains only novels from English writing authors. There are no Russian, German or French novels of world literature on it. So its not a list of the best novels in the world - only a list of the best novels that have been written in english language.

Right. My goto list is The Novel 100 which puts Ulysses as #3, after Don Quixote and War and Peace. The book of the same name has a few pages on each of the books and is quite well written.

Yes, as @capitalism points out, Modern Library only is English-only, but Novel 100 puts Anna Karenina (which I want to read too) at #13. For Russian, my next read would be War and Peace (at #2 on the same list).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65540.54
ETH 2608.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65