[Book Review] Thrall (Daniel Black Book 4)

in #books6 years ago

I read a lot. Like, a lot. I definitely get my money's worth out of Amazon's Kindle Unlimited. So I thought it would be fun to start reviewing the books I read. Mostly sci-fi/fantasy genre fiction, so don't be disappointed if you don't find abstruse prose in the demesne of my literary sights. See how annoying that is?

These reviews are not about the plot of the story. I guess they are meta-reviews about whether the book is worth reading or not. It's more about the experience of reading the book rather than the story itself.

You can check everything I'm reading on Kindle at my goodreads

OK, on to the review.

Amazon Link

The dust jacket:

Without royal leadership Kozalin's defenders are falling into turmoil, but mortal problems pale into insignificance when the gods themselves take an interest in Daniel. With new enemies appearing everywhere he looks, and far too many secrets to keep, can even Daniel's magic save the day?

Well, you know what they say. If you can't get results with violence, you aren't being violent enough...

Warning: This novel contains graphic violence, explicit sex, problematic opinions and a protagonist who has no interest in being normal. Read at your own risk.

Transcript:

so this is the review for thrall Daniel
blue black book 4 without rural
leadership co saloons defenders are
falling into turmoil but mortal problems
pale into incident against when the gods
themselves take an interest in Daniel
with new enemies appearing everywhere he
looks and far too many secrets to keep
can even Daniels magic save the day
well you know what they say if you can't
get results with violence you aren't
being violent enough warning this novel
contains graphic violence as explicit
sex problematic opinions and a
protagonist who has no interest in being
normal read at your own risk
well as dramatic as that sounds yeah so
this is before in the Daniel black
series where he's a guy transported to
this parallel reality where the gods are
real and you know various kinds of gods
you know you have the the Norse gods and
Egyptian ones and the Greek ones and
whatever else so what I really like
about this series is that it's like you
know actually smart about how the magic
system is used in a lot of series you'll
see you know the the characters going
through these machinations to develop
something or other you know as an
ability and then there's some like
glaringly obvious thing that they're not
doing it's like well why don't you just
do that they never do in this one the
guy is is really smart about how he does
things so it's like you know I don't
know if the authors as an engineering
background but it seems like you might
so I I really like that about this the
thing I don't like is that the the time
difference between when book 3 was
published before while this was long
enough that I barely remembered what was
going on so and I wasn't gonna go back
and reread the whole thing so it took a
little while to get into so you know
speed it up but other than that I really
enjoyed it
if you like that kind of cerebral
approach to things I think you would
enjoy this one too

Overall rating: Love a smart hero

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55