[Book Review] Orbital Claims Adjuster: Adventures of a Jump Space Accountant Book 2

in #books6 years ago

I read a lot. Like, a lot. I definitely get my money's worth out of Amazon's Kindle Unlimited. So I thought it would be fun to start reviewing the books I read. Mostly sci-fi/fantasy genre fiction, so don't be disappointed if you don't find abstruse prose in the demesne of my literary sights. See how annoying that is?

These reviews are not about the plot of the story. I guess they are meta-reviews about whether the book is worth reading or not. It's more about the experience of reading the book rather than the story itself.

OK, on to the review.

Orbital Claims Adjuster Amazon Link

The dust jacket:

Our hero, Jake Stewart, the first Belter student at the Merchants Academy is ready for his first job. All past sins, like murder, theft, and shooting out an airlock are forgiven. He just has to see a man in a bar and pick up some information. What could possibly go wrong? How about assault., jail, vomit, and charging irregular expenses. Now he's disgraced, possibly fired, in the militia, and on an out orbit trading voyage that is not going well. Oh, and his new boss hates him and might try to kill him. How is he going to get out of this mess?

Still not funny, which is unfortunate. I think the author is trying a little bit in this one though.

Jake continues to bumble forward and foil the bad guys yet is moved around like a pawn at the same time.

I don't even know what to make of this book and series at this point.

Overall rating: Decent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83